Menu

Java version, et al

Developers
2016-02-02
2016-11-04
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • Nik Trevallyn-Jones

Hi All (but mainly Peter),

I am about to put a minor update into SPManager.
    What is the current (minimum) version of Java source and bytecode are we compiling for these days?

Cheers!
    Nik

• Luke S

Luke S - 2016-02-03

The javac target in the standard ant script is 1.5. Whether this should be the target though, is another question, about which I'm not an expert. I do note that even 1.6 has been EOLed for general public users. The question would be: would upping the target version translate to any advantages from a user perspective? Any features/options it might unlock afrom development perspective?

• Peter Eastman

Peter Eastman - 2016-02-03

It certainly would be reasonable to increase the minimum version. While there might conceivably be some ancient computers out there still running 1.5, I would guess the number is pretty tiny. But if you're asking what the current release was compiled for, then yes, it's 1.5.

Peter

• Nik Trevallyn-Jones

Ok, then my various ant files are still fine. :)

Cheers!
    Nik

• Nik Trevallyn-Jones

In case anyone is wondering:

There are a couple of issues that I am aware of with the version of the Java byte-code.

• the byte-code modification fiasco
    • dynamic method dispatch

• Oracle in their "infinite wisdom" lobotomized the byte-code modification process in a non-backward-compatible way, such that old format modified byte code required an "enable-backwards-compatibility" flag on newer VMs, which Oracle then removed in Java 8 (and later versions of Java 7).

This caused no end of problems with almost every Enterprise back-end Java app and app-server, since they all use byte-code modification to support core functionality - meaning that many sites could not upgrade to Java 8 (or even later Java 7) VMs because it broke their apps and app servers.