Greenshot Icon

A free and open source screenshot tool optimized for productivity

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
177
4
3
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • vacplac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's perfect. It lacks only the color picker.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • thiemo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very handy

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • venryx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has a very streamlined capture and save/copy/upload process.

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • yigido
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good program for FREE! I can shot my screen and upload it to imgur immediately! Must have application, thank you developers for your efforts :)

    Posted 04/18/2015
  • iubmadiwtu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great simple app for use for creating screen shots of stuff.

    Posted 04/15/2015
  • rhonda-mt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know how I ever got along without Greenshot. It's lean, mean, and, presumably... Green. I try to remember to donate 25dollars for it once a year and when I persuade a friend to use it donate for the friend. I've had Greenshot on XP, Vista (Ugh), Win7, Win8 (double ugh); it installs easily despite the Ugh OS's interfering nannying. Lots of options, and I get to choose almost everything: format, quality, title, where to put the shot, and more. Takes a few minutes to decide when setting up, then operation is instant. Tip (maybe): there's a "magnifier" that's turned on by default. If you find it confusing, as I do, right-click on the Greenshot icon in your taskbar tray (you _do_ load Greenshot on startup, don't you?) and turn it off in "preferences."

    Posted 04/08/2015
  • vladius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the greatest pieces of software! Would be cool to have a zoom-in function in the editor however.

    Posted 04/02/2015
  • milworker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Across the board, a very simple to use and adapt bit of software. I change the hotkeys to F11 (for region) so I can capture flyout menus (Alt or Ctrl kills them) and there are so many options with Greenshot for saving the file, out of the box, that you'd be pretty dumb to pay for anything else. That said, they're more than worthy of a donation, which I did. I figured they did as well as SnagIt, so they got my 50 dollars (USD). Keep at it! Good job!!

    Posted 01/22/2015
  • black2024
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Must have!

    Posted 12/22/2014
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Work Very precise I love it but slows startup somehow...

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • jaydes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect api. Free and open, i give money because it s good work

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • ozok
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, highly recommended.

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • einor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful

    Posted 04/11/2014
  • cadayton1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Use it all the time and plan on donating to this project.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • dieferman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It Does What It Promises And It's Easy To Use, All While Being Low In Resources Use.

    Posted 04/02/2014
  • lsavidge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does everything I need.

    Posted 03/25/2014
  • beachcoder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greenshot is perfect for my everyday use at work! Thank you for developing this product.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • kauphycup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My daughter is a CPA, auditor and fraud investigator and complained about the hassle of "capturing", annotating and filing her variously formated "discoveries". I turned her on to this which has cut hours off her preparation. I hope all the people that find the program useful will contribute to the developers.

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • bmcmsales
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greenshot is the best tool I've ever used ! And it is for free ! Thank you guys for all the work you did. It happens very often that you made my day, means my work easier ! Extremely high recommended ! ***** Thanks

    Posted 11/20/2013
  • puniksem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greenshot has got to be one of (if not the best) and easiest screenshot application today! What's more it's completely free, and that's fantastic! Great quality images and nicely customisable preferences. Highly recommended for beginners and advanced users alike.

    Posted 10/10/2013
  • ulisz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a great tool, the best clipping snipping cutting tool I know. A great feature e. g. the automatic sceenshot saving - now I can look after my screenshots even from a week ago and they are still there. Easy, intuitive handling.

    Posted 10/06/2013
  • damonkh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used Snag-it for many years now. But unfortunately they have changed it from a small foot print and easy to use product to hard to understand bloated product. I was told about this and have been using it for about a month now. I have since written an email to the snagit people telling them to go pound sand. Thank you so much for creating this! It is by far worth paying for if you ever decide to market it.

    Posted 09/20/2013
Show next 25 reviews