2023-05-02
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2011-03-13

Hi every,

I am trying to transform a layer from Lat/long (decimals) to plane... so i
    will be able to measure distances in metres and not degrees. How can i do
    that? I will be glad if you can tell the tool to use and how to fill the
    parameters. I tried using "coordinate transformation (gird) but i think i i
    didnt do it right, so the ouput is still the same. The layer is a DEM.

Can any one help? i am new to SAGA, been using ArcMap but wanna taste SAGA a
    bit too:)

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2011-03-13

Hi,

am afraid that SAGA cannot reproject grids. You can use Quantum GIS and there
    is such tool using GDAL - in main menu Raster. Then you can load transformed
    grid back to SAGA.

• Volker Wichmann

Volker Wichmann - 2011-03-13

SAGA is capable to re-project vector and grid datasets.

First of all, you have to validate that the source coordinate system of your
    data is set. Have a look at the description tab of the dataset you like to
    project (select it in the data tab of the workspace window and then change in
    the object properties window to the description tab).

In case the description says "Projection: Undefined Coordinate System", you
    can use the 'Projection - Proj.4 / Set Coordinate Reference System' module to
    assign a projection. The 'Get CRS Definition from ...' parameter of the module
    allows you to choose from which information the coordinate description should
    be taken from, either from the 'Proj4 Parameters', the 'EPSG' code or from a
    'Well known Text File'. With either of these choices, you have to provide the
    appropriate information within the corresponding module parameters section. A
    forth option is to use the CRS from a loaded dataset ('Pick CRS from loaded
    data set'). In case you specify either a grid or a shapefile with projection
    information, this information will be used.