Menu

Can't do without it - and a short wish list

2007-01-12
2013-04-11
  • Jean-Francois Cloutier

Hi guys,

Freemind hits a sweet spot. In fact it hits quite a few at once.

I am a software developer and I use Freemind every day. I use it to do analysis and organize use cases and design ideas. I use it, together with TaskJuggler, to write development plans. I use it to present complex ideas to clients (PowerPoint is slick but it kinda dumb things down). And I love it.

And now, thanks to scripting and other new features, I want to use Freemind to write "active mindmaps" (I think of them as lightweight knowledge management applications).

To do this I need just a few more features which should not be too difficult to add:

1- The ability to attach different popup menus to different nodes, with menu items that can trigger scripts.

2- The ability to define filters based on the execution of scripts (scripts that return true or false).

3- (Nice to have) It would be great if there was the equivalent of an "Edit long attribute" so that script attributes could be edited without doing copy&pastes from a text editor.

Please let me know if this is already there, or can be done easily and quickly (I need them yesterday :-)

One more thing: your attention to details re. usability really shines through.

With much gratitude,
    JF

• Christian Foltin

Hi,

I'm working on 3-,

Chris

• Jean-Francois Cloutier

Salut Christian,

That's great.

I am also very, very interested to know if it would be possible to define and assign popup menus to individual nodes, and assign Groovy scripts to menu items. I believe this feature would greatly enhance Freemind as a platform for creating and delivering "active mindmaps".

Right now, all nodes share the same popup menu and scripts can only be assigned to nodes via a "script" attribute.

Thanks,
        JF

• Christian Foltin

Dear JF,

ok, thinking a little bit more about the subject,