Translation

Developers
Anonymous
2004-11-22
2013-04-26
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2004-11-22

Hello,

My name is Fabien and I'm new to the developement of DrPython. First of all, sorry for my English, but it's not my mother tongue.

Secondly, I plan to translate DrPython (in French), so I would like to know if someone has already make translation in a python script. What is the best way to translate a python script ? gettext or another way ?

--
    Fabien

• Franz Steinhaeusler

Hello Fabien,

I've had a project wxpyatol, which I gave up.

You can download it, but i cannot promise, that this prog is still running with newer wxpython versions:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/wxpyatol/

You can look at mainframe.py and guilanguage.py, how I solved that. Because it is longer time ago,
      I cannot remember how it works exactly.

You can also look at:
      http://wiki.wxpython.org/index.cgi/RecipesI18n

What you need is also poedit http://sourceforge.net/projects/poedit/
      (i used this one)
      or
      http://sourceforge.net/projects/potranslator/
      or some other po edit tool for editing/translating
      the strings.
      for the po file, you can edit them directly with
      DrPython also.

For grabbing the strings:
      I used a regexression to replace all strings in the form:
      "text" to _("text"), than collect them, filter out
      duplicates and store this in a database or text file.
      so every few weeks, i compared them and updated
      the collection file.

It is all in all a lot of work, and I'm disgusted to look back at this :)

As you can read this, you see, my mother language
      is also not english ;)

HTH,

Franz

• Marek Kubica

Marek Kubica - 2005-01-16