vym - view your mind Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
33
1
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pros: Extremely lightweight, naturalistic branch layout, some great drag and drop functionality, and the basis for a great mind mapping too Cons: Not that intuitive... Diverts from standard key operations, e.g. pressing F2 won't allow you to edit a branch Having used Xmind for Windows I'd like more 'usuability.' Some features exceed its rivals (including Xmind Free), but certain things - like being able to colour branch lines according to their grouping, rather than having only one colour for all branches, and being able to paste text to directly create nodes - would be great to have. That said, if you want a simple, light, desktop cross-platform mind mapping application this is a contender that will support your idea generation, and integrate well with other office programs you are using, then this should fit the bill.

    Posted 03/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is simply an excellent light weight application running on Linux - especially useful for writers.

    Posted 08/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quick and intuitive. Would be 5 but needs Android port.

    Posted 08/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    just works as I need

    Posted 08/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! But sometimes I lost my notes. Don't know why...

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello for all! My app can´t save. Display me a error for looking for a xml in ".."C:\Users\_xxx_\AppData\Local\Temp\". I am running a Win8. Thanks for all!

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just got 2.3.24 running on my Macbook Air as follows: (1) edit file.cpp, line 139 change it to: QString r="/Users/<MyHome>/my_vym"; where <MyHome> obviously needs to be replaced by your home. (2) qmake (3) make (4) cp -r styles scripts icons flags lang macros demos exports vym.app/Contents/Resources/ (5) sudo make install (6) cd /usr/local/bin (7) vym.app/Contents/MacOS/vym (8) You can continue making it nicer by adding the path to your $PATH, etc ...

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very interesting mind mapping tool with a unique slide show (presentation) feature.

    Posted 04/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfekt. das beste und einfachste Mind-Mapping (und vieles Mehr)-Tool ! Danke!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have downloaded vym 2.2.2 for Mac but can't install it. Can someone please help?

    Posted 04/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, one of the best open source mind mapping software. For anyone having problems running it under Windows check the VYM wiki, i have added a link for a guide

    Posted 03/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great mind map tool for KDE users.

    Posted 02/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    vym works nicely

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use vym

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good and useful software

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best open source mind mapping tool. In this days I use it almost every day as a structured taking note tool, and as a prototype project planning tool.

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    everything begins with idea. write your idea with vym

    Posted 11/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and Easy to use.

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I *wish* the Windows version woud get a good looking at. This software looks wonderful. Problem was though, that when I went to saved I needed some zip-unzip software, and unfortunately, on top of everythign else I do, I don't have the time to delve into learning about this. I have 7zip, but obviously this is not the thing I need. And when I tried reinstalling, there was issues with various installation files (strange, as it worked the first time. I was just going to give it another go before giving up entirely). I look forward to a fully functional Windows edition! In the meantime ... hmmm... brain fuzz I guess. Nothing out there has the functionality of vym!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks for this great software. it saves me so much time.

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect open source project! 10x!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recomendo

    Posted 09/14/2012
Show next 12 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks