Skim Icon

A PDF Reader and Note-taker for OS X

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best. I just wish the auto-hide TOC feature that was available in versions prior to 1.4.13 is supported in all OSX versions as opposed to just 10.6 (as per ver.1.4.22 via SKHideClosedFullScreenSidePanels) since v.1.4.12 just refuses to work on Sierra and I'm stuck with switching command+shift+T instead of simply hovering to the left side to show the TOC panel. MacOS Sierra slow scrolling bug is already ironed out in the upcoming version. For those who can't wait, choosing single page view mode then single page continuous after opening the pdf file *should* fix the problem (tested and works on v1.4.13 or newer)

    Posted 10/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is dynamite. I am a student and it is by far the most useful. It has a few hiccups, but that is to be expected, I really have found this useful, if one of these was really cleaned up and pushed towards students I think it would do really well.

    Posted 09/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best OSS PDF viewer for OS X bar none. Period.

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best PDF viewer for Mac OS X to use for latex editing. I use it with TextMate and i can do forward-backward search and auto-refresh with synctex.

    Posted 02/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it can work on mac

    Posted 02/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Working on MacOs 10.11 Capitan Ok, so far

    Posted 07/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is awesome. Yet, it doesn't work on OS X El Capitan at this moment. Shows only black screen for PDF previews, while thumbnails work fine.

    Posted 06/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Much smoother than Acrobat when page up and down.

    Posted 05/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use it in my everyday. Excellent piece of software.

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found that every time I tap with 3 fingers a snapshot will appear but actually I just want to look up a world in dictionary. Can the snapshot function be turned off?

    Posted 01/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I absolutely love Skim. I love how you can view all your Notes (typed, freehand, lines, arrows, boxes, ALL) separately in their own sidebar and easily locate where they are within the PDF. You can even edit the text that the lines, arrows, or boxes say by double-clicking them. I also love the universal bookmarks – eg. I have a Pharmacy Calculations PDF textbook with a page of unit conversions that I need to reference often, and it is SO convenient not to have to scroll through huge virtual textbook files like that just to reference one page. I am a pharmacy student, and the professors in my school like to use PDFs as their slide format. A select few of them keep their presentations in powerpoint form, which I usually export as PDF just so I can use them in Skim! One improvement I'd like to suggest is to allow word-for-word font formatting when editing ALL texts posts, even from Tools like underline and highlight (non-Note tools) as well as the Text Note tool. I'm talking about when I double-click an underline or highlight or Text Note I made on the PDF and it allows a text box that can then show the text in the Note sidebar. I would like to be able to make individual words in this box bold or underlined or italic, just like you can in an Anchored Note. The last thing that would make Skim perfect to me would be audio recording capability. It would be extraordinary to be able to record my professor's audio within the Skim file, with a playback bar similar to Pear Note, and then click on any of my markings and reference the audio at that time. Also, I do not currently have a tablet, but perhaps in the future, I would want Skim to be mobile somehow. If Skim were to be mobile with audio capability, and yet still keep the Notes and Table of Contents and bookmarking functions it has now, I think it would be superior to many other apps, even Notability. The only thing that would keep Evernote ahead at that point would be its image-text recognition capability, but that's another battle for another day. Audio capability please~!

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better then build in os x viewer, if only there was a night reading theme Needs one more thing that build in viewer is missing! The ability to change the background color of the paper to any RGB color one want's

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim doesn't have basic measuring tools for drawings, so I'm rating features as poor. It also has a limited help function - it took me a while to figure out that when I opened it, it sits on the task bar but doesn't open a programme window; it waits for me to use Finder to open a file. So I'm also marking it down for not conforming to usual usability modes. However it does look quite pretty and seems to have the basic text markup tools, slightly more than are offered by OSX's Preview application. PS To the user who requested coloured notes... OSX's Preview app offers that.

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easier and more feature-full than OSX builtin viewer.

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is very good and helpful. Thanks for the developing team. I would like to suggest one handy function which is in the preview in mac osx: Is it possible that notes color may be with different color and not the same color for all notes ? Thank you for all your efforts.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used Skim for 4-5 years; it quickly became my go-to PDF reader and annotation application in undergrad, and I continue using it on a daily basis. The note-taking features are particularly helpful, as are its options to customize the toolbar and highlighting colors. As a grad student with a massive collection of marked-up PDFs, I don't know what I would do without it!

    Posted 03/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good application. Feature rich and well integrated. No stability problems with Skim 1.4.8 and Mavericks (10.9.1 & 10.9.2) so far.

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I on ask for one more FEATURE: Please add the option to HIGHLIGHT the text with several COLORS! Instead of having that one sign only, every user should be able to add different colors of markers - like in realy life ;) This would make my life so much easier and totally unnecessary to print documents anymore! Thanks in advance! Your making a great job!

    Posted 02/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Buggy. After many years of using it, am switching back to Preview. For those who are interested: the app version whose bugs least bothered me is 1.4.4.

    Posted 01/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for all the work that's being done until now. BUG REPORT: osX 10.9.1 Skim Version 1.4.7 (81) When copying words or sentences from a PDF file to basically whatever other application, letters "i" and "t" are often not pasted into the end use application. Haven't noticed this kind of problem with any other letters though.

    Posted 01/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I now am using Emacs with Skim viewer for TeX editing. As I said before, there is an annoying bug or lack of function in Skim viewer; "forward search" with emacs is not good. I always have a fixed window size for Skim viewer, and use "Zoom in" option in Skim, because there is much vaccum space in usual PDF file after texifying, so that, I need an appropriate font size and often try to fit manuscript to my fixed window size. But, whenever I use "forward search" with emacs, this keeping position in Skim is broken - I think that this is a lack of function in Skim. In contrast, for Xdvik, there is indeed such a function; the hotkey is "k" in Xdvik which stands for "Keep position". I strongly hope to add this function to Skim, too.

    Posted 01/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is excellent, particularly since it provides great AppleScript support and nicely collaborates with LaTeX. Unfortunately, Version 1.4.7 (81) crashes under OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) whenever I create a text note and then hit return or try to save the file (EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)).

    Posted 12/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product! I'm so glad to find out that development is still going on for my favorite app!

    Posted 11/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent application but the latest version 1.4.6 (80) on OS X 10.9 has a bug reported in another review, in my case in a slightly different situation: whenever I cancel a full screen mode I get an empty window and have to press some key or move the cursor to get the view of the pdf back. Would it be possible to fix it please? (Had no trouble on the previous version of OS X.) Thx.

    Posted 11/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skim is an excellent application, but it has a bug: every time I open a pdf, I get an empty window. Once I click in the window, or change the zoom (by clicking "+") the pdf itself appears.

    Posted 11/21/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks