Raspberry Pi emulation for Windows  Icon

Simple Raspberry Pi qemu emulation in Windows for beginners

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
13
3
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The emulation worked perfectly for the Raspberry Pi command line. The GUI was sluggish on my 2.4 GHz i5 Windows 10 system. I used the following command line to map the Raspberry Pi port 22 (SSH) to localhost port 2222. This allows you to ssh into the pi and to psftp files in and out. You will need to run psftp from a command prompt and the putty directory must be in your path. REM This will start the Raspberry Pi with 256 MB of RAM and redirect tcp port 22 (ssh) to port 2222. REM Use putty ftp command: psftp -l pi -P 2222 127.0.0.1 qemu-system-arm.exe -M versatilepb -cpu arm1176 -hda 2012-07-15-wheezy-raspbian.img -kernel kernel-qemu -m 256 -append "root=/dev/sda2" -redir tcp:2222::22

    Posted 02/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work, thank you! A questione please: can I run it on linux without WINE?

    Posted 02/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    to test with more recent image : just download latest image file in the qemu in qemu edit run.bat and change in it the img file and there you go. ps: too bad you cant save anything

    Posted 11/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice and easy to be up and running. However i tried very hard to get tap/bridge network under QEMU working, without any luck. i wish the author updated it to a more recent kernel, and latest Raspbian image, and latest Qemu.

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks a lot

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is awesome! It actually works very well. I wouldn't know it was an emulator by looking at it. However, it is quite slow and the text stretches when you make the window bigger. Great over all though!

    Posted 12/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and easy to use. But how to use USB with this? Unlike Virtual Box and VMPlayer. We can connect USB devices easily. How about QEMU? Tutorial please.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you! For those interested in, it's also possible to upgrade the disk size in a simple way: just follow these instructions: from windows cmd, move to qemu img folder $ qemu-img resize [nomeimmagine].img +2G start emulator, login and create this file: $ sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/90-qemu.rules with this content: KERNEL=="sda", SYMLINK+="mmcblk0" KERNEL=="sda?", SYMLINK+="mmcblk0p%n" KERNEL=="sda2", SYMLINK+="root" reboot $ sudo ln -snf mmcblk0p2 /dev/root $ sudo raspi-config expand file system reboot

    Posted 04/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks, very easy to use and help me a lot :D

    Posted 03/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this emulator!

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The most important feature, expanding the disk size e.g. to the size of an SD card with 4GB fails. So you get stuck with the initial size of the download (<1.5GB?). It would be easier when the download already contains an image with 4GB inside.

    Posted 01/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good and useful software

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product rpiqemuwindows

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this emulator! I have a question you ask, how can I boot from my sd card that it is in drive E: I do not know what I need to change the run.bat Thank you for your help.

    Posted 08/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super Nice! Very Usefull to try sth out. Thank you very much!!!!

    Posted 08/06/2012

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks