Celebrating

200 Million

Downloads

Apache OpenOffice Icon

Apache OpenOffice

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (255) Read Reviews | Last Updated
BSD Windows Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (255)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
186
29
9
6
25
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I love Apache OpenOffice. I just downloaded 4.0 and it looks pretty good. I am not a big fan of the big sidebar stuff, but once you close it, it seems to stay closed. It looks like it may be useful to those who use such things though. I had thought that this version would allowing saving in the docx and other newer M.S. file types, but ti doesn't. That doesn't matter to me either as I save my stuff in .doc. I figure that anyone can open a doc file so I am not worried about the newer types. What would I like to see in a future update? I don't know if it would be a simple or not, but I would like to be able to customize my tool bars by just dragging icons to the bar itself (the way M.S. Office and Softmaker Office allow one to do). I tried LibreOffice and to me it seemed bloated. It also wasn't as fast as A.O.O. What do I like BEST about A.O.O.? You have kept the menus and tool bars looking the same. It doesn't look like one big tool bar at eh top of the screen. There is a distinction between bars. Unlike L.O. tool bars that seem all run together. And we SURELY do not need that ridiculous ribbon interface that M.S. has adopted. The tool bar is a simple thing, but it is what keeps this Office Suite top of the rest. We don't need super fancy stuff. What we DO need is what works and looks pleasing to the eye. A.O.O. has managed to do that. Thanks Guys. :)

vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Libre Office (The original creators of Open Office) are way better.

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks!

    Posted 12/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ... without addressing the software technicalities (I hope that I can find my way to alphabetizing a list some day) - let me say that I am beyond grateful to have been directed to AOO - (so far ...) there is no cost ... and when I was in need of typing a note, a letter, the immediacy of being able to do so is / was greatly appreciated ... whoever you all are - Thank You "Bigly" ... I praise your working minds !!!

    Posted 12/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    trying to download templates without much luck... every time i try, i am told access denied now what?

    Posted 12/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a pretty good program, but I think you should read different sources of reviews to have a good opinion. For example on this site is a completely other point of view. bit.ly/2gnyHxl

    Posted 11/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super software, many thanks.

    Posted 10/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    quite good

    Posted 08/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a true God-send. Thank you for wonderful software that has helped me to unlock an old file from Windows xp and other software sources. I could not open this in Pages because it was a .doc file. Nothing could unlock its contents only Open_Office by Apache. Thank you so much. The length of the book has grown from 450 to 693 but that can be fixed in Pages or Pages converted to .doc. I am surprised that Mac does not have its own power software to convert a .doc file because pages can convert to .docx and .doc in advanced convert. Well done and May God bless your business and bring in a harvest of good things for you all. Marie

    Posted 07/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    super

    Posted 06/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great software.

    Posted 06/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great

    Posted 05/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is ridiculous the darn program keeps crashing and recovering back to before I had previously saved, it has cost me more time and I am running out of hair to pull!!! I am going to try and re-install and do a complete new install from a new download, but the download keeps stopping before it gets to the full 134 mb!!!! What am I gonna do??? Look for something else?????,

    Posted 05/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is outstanding!

    Posted 04/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't wait to

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sounds really great.

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is outstanding!

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is outstanding!

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm loving it :D!

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Olek would not have believed it

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software.

    Posted 04/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    shiftingexpert

    Posted 04/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 03/29/2016
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks