Irrlicht Engine Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
38
2
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I starting fiddling around with Irrlicht back in 2008 when I was learning C++. I was proficient with C and had used Allegro for a few projects, but wanted something that supported 3D. I tried OGRE but was too new to C++ and OO principles to get beyond a few simple Hello World examples. I had also unsuccessfully tried diving into OpenGL. And then I discovered Irrlicht. It was fairly easy to get started developing with it and it included a lot of features "out of the box". The examples were just detailed enough to get me started, and the forum filled in the gaps. I also found the API well organized and easy to follow. A few years later I switched from using Java to Irrlicht for several promotional apps for a casino I worked for. I was on a deadline and I couldn't get these kiosk printers to work right with the Java. But they worked flawlessly with a simple console app written in C++. Since Irrlicht had built in GUI controls, I decided to use it temporarily until I could figured out my Java printer issues. I never went back. And the kiosk apps eventually became fully 3D - much to the patrons' (and the Marketing Coordinator's) delight. Anyway, what can I say...I'm a fan!

    Posted 06/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's soooooo easy according to low level libraries, and has much good features and design, but with a little bit limited support

    Posted 01/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent

    Posted 01/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    to bad it written in c++ if it was written in C# i would have a purpose for it ... ( Opensimulator (.org) and/or Second Life ... )

    Posted 09/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Irrlicht is amazing for a lightweight and fast 3D library to weave into your game engine. It's easy to pick up and quick to get what you want on the screen. It has a decent amount of features and the design structure of the library itself is well thought out. There is some support on the forums but your going to have to dig around for a lot of things. Irrlicht has come a long way and has a long way to go. 4 Stars.

    Posted 03/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and beautifull 3D engine :) Thanks :)

    Posted 08/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good engine for beginners and advanced. Easily extendable (and no license issues), but specializing some things can range from tricky to you-need-a-full-manual-on-irrlicht difficult. Very helpful community.

    Posted 01/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome software!

    Posted 11/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project !

    Posted 08/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great in Windows

    Posted 06/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome tool!

    Posted 06/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All around wonderful.

    Posted 06/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'd like open source software.

    Posted 06/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Useful tool.

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, intuitive, and very easy to use.

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Essential tool with a top-notch command line interface.

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very very good.

    Posted 06/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice and simple GUI, i like it a lot better.

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool and getting better!

    Posted 05/07/2012
Show next 18 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks