Meteorologist Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
43
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Had another temp monitor in menubar app that no longer functions... wanted the functionality back so I went looking and found this gem. Am VERY glad it offers a source other than Yahoo for getting data, made me realize the "other" app is failing because it also depends on Yahoo, and something changed there so apps can no longer draw on it for the data.

    Posted 04/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's JUST GREAT (particularly Meteorologist Classic...!!! THANKS to JERRY...!!!). It's a pity the WU daily allowance is so ridiculously low... but that is a problem which has to do with the Weather Underground provider and not with the program itself...

    Posted 03/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had used Meteorologist in the past & I loved it. I was unhappy when I was no longer able to use it due to me upgrading my OS. I am so very very glad it is back in an updated version that is actually usable again. Good job!

    Posted 01/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bravo, Ed Danley! You have done the thing no other developer has wanted to do—you re-wrote Meteorologist 2.0 from Scratch. And you used Apple's next-generation language to do it! I bow to you, I am not worthy. But I will do my best to help.

    Posted 01/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for reviving this beloved app!

    Posted 01/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totally the way it should be! Weather in your menu bar. Excellent!

    Posted 12/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A big THANK YOU to the developer of Meteo2. Meteorologist was one of my most used menubar features and now it's back. Anyway way to donate to help with the development?

    Posted 12/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    so happy to join!

    Posted 11/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Program seems solid - so far - but I prefer a sans serif font to the one that is used.

    Posted 11/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I edit cities once or twice a year, but today I found myself unable to add any. This may be the same problem that unblocktheplane encountered -- the application can't add San Francisco, Rome, anywhere... Otherwise has worked fine for years with MacOS 10.6.8

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small and unobtrusive, temperature at a glance. Perfect!

    Posted 02/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    LOVE Meteorologist! BUT...after a MBP crash, I can't add any cities except by zip code. Meteo now can't find New York, let alone any of the overseas cities I want to add. Help, please! 2011 MBP 17" / OS 10.9.5 / 2.2GHz i7 / 8GB RAM

    Posted 12/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app, but just stopped working

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded xquartz (2.7.5) but Meteorologist still will not run on my MacBookPro Retina 10.9.1. When I saw that you used 2.7.4, I downloaded and installed it, but still no Meteorologist. It was running Meteorologist yesterday fine. Don't know what happened?

    Posted 01/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not sure why, but if you're running OS X 10.9, installing a copy of xquartz from over at macosforge dot org (typed weird to get around the "no links in reviews" restriction) followed by a reboot makes Meteorologist work again. FYI, it also makes X11 stuff start working again, as well as some Wine stuff. The actual link is xquartz dot macosforge dot org Current version as of October 31, 2013 is 2.7.4, released 9-27-12 - that's the one I installed. It's working great, now. I was directed there BY APPLE. Check their kb article ht5293 (you can go to the Support section of Apple's site and search for ht5293 - it'll pull up "About X11 and OS X Mountain Lion" if you'd like to read about why this works. Apparently X11 libraries were taken out of OS X 10.8+, and xquartz puts them back in. It's very likely Meteorologist was using some of these libraries.

    Posted 11/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, updated MacOS to 10.9 (Mavericks) and saw that Meteorologist does not work anymore.... Any chance to get an update? larkmiller Update 11/24/2013 answer to abomination66 above that post: quartz does not help. But deleting the 3 plist files in the preferences in the home directory helps. After that you have to restart the app 2 times and it works again. Not Apple-like, looks like cleaning the registry in windows...

    Posted 10/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app. I have seemingly tried them all and I keep coming back to Meteorologist. Best menu weather app for Mac OS X. It's stable and provides all the essential weather data.

    Posted 07/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice work ! Great project.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Functional, simple, and intuitive!

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Heat-meteo works good.

    Posted 05/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashes w/ 10.6.8 on Intel.

    Posted 02/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashes for me on startup on OSX 10.8.2 with 12/1/12 12:29:13.178 PM Meteorologist[470]: Checking for new version of Meteo. 12/1/12 12:29:13.241 PM Meteorologist[470]: All images found inside of the Meteorologist resources folder 12/1/12 12:29:13.242 PM Meteorologist[470]: Meteo configured to load in menubar 12/1/12 12:29:13.254 PM Meteorologist[470]: otherMeteoWasLaunched() 12/1/12 12:29:13.254 PM Meteorologist[470]: applicationShouldTerminate()

    Posted 12/01/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Always loved this program, but 1.60 does not seem to be running on Snow Leopard 10.6.8, on a Intel Core 2 Duo iMac.

    Posted 11/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately despite the implication that it does, the new version does NOT work with an Intel processor running 10.5.8 ...... Too bad as this is a very useful application!

    Posted 11/23/2012
Show next 21 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks