DxWnd Icon

alpha

Window hooker to run fullscreen programs in window and much more...

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
37
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Handles DirectDraw games very well on my Windows 7 x64

    Posted 05/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful tool for older games and the guy who made it is really willing to help.

    Posted 05/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great and useful tool!

    Posted 03/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not only you may run your game in windowed mode, but sometimes if the game doesn't run, there is a serious possibility that with DxWnd it may run BTW. An excellent piece of full proof software, and a fantastich support by the auther.

    Posted 02/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The software I've been looking for a long time. Helps me play older games with non-blurry scaling, proper input and excellent interaction with a modern Windows desktop.

    Posted 07/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been looking for something like this for years! I can finally play my old games the way o want. It just needs some time to get used to the loads of features but it works like a charm ;)

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The DxWnd project is a very nice supplement to older PC games. Most PC games in the past didn't have a play in window option. I began using it and I was... HOOKED... just like the application has been designed to do. It's nice to see someone continuing the project to help make multitasking while gaming much easier. So, thanks gho! It still leaves room for improvement but doesn't everything? =D Good Day - All!

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a wonderful program that makes old games playable on Windows 8.1 and on. Thanks so much for your hard work!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does exactly what it's described to do: Making older programs and games work in windowed mode and sometimes even enables them to work at all on modern machines! gho is also really active in the forums.

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DxWnd is amazing, without it I wouldn't even bother going back to revisit older games. It's a little daunting at first to setup because of the vast amount of options, but gho (the developer) is super helpful, just make a post about your game and he'll help you set the thing up, or he'll just fix DxWnd to work with your game. 6/5 Stars.

    Posted 12/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful program and best of all it works!

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super helpful developer, super useful program. It's the ONLY way to fix certain games like Hoyle Casino Empire in w8.

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really great piece of software, driven by a developer who's both active and supportive.

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you're having a problem, post in the forum! The creator is very hands-on and willing to try to tackle whatever challenges a particular game presents.

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    starcraft cant join on battlenet

    Posted 09/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for developing this tool. As our native resolutions get higher and higher, the ease of playing older games continues to decrease. A windower tool is sorely needed as time goes on, and this provides, in spades. It has issues, yes, but working with numerous rendering methods and having a bug-free experience is, well, neigh impossible. Now if only it was possible to upscale things without upscaling.. ala CRTs.

    Posted 09/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice piece of software i found here, helping me so much out with games/programs which just allow full screen mode.

    Posted 09/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good universal tool to run old games on the newest Windows versions.

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project, works very nice with old games and programs! ;-)

    Posted 07/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Software works after fiddling around with it. Support was very helpful!

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    don't listen to that, support is great, the author knows what he does !

    Posted 10/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    support is horrible. dont talk to this guy. he knows everything better.

    Posted 09/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This awesome piece of software has fixed a lot of troublesome Win95-98 games and allowed them to work flawlessly on Windows 8 64-bit. A faux full-screen mode would be cool to have also.

    Posted 09/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Outstanding. Had an old medical diagnostics program with full screen only and this fixed it perfectly.

    Posted 07/06/2013
Show next 15 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks