Menu

How to pause an AO while DMA completes an SPI transfer.

Jim
2024-07-19
2024-07-23
  • Jim

Jim - 2024-07-19

Hello
    In my current STM32F407 design I have a Master Hub communicating with 6 Slave Endpoints via SPI. The Hub has 2 AOs. One to handle the upper level of interface with the 6 Endpoints (I’ll call this Hub AO) and another to handle the lower level SPI via DMA and interrupts (I’ll call this Spi AO). The Spi AO is higher priority than the Hub AO and handles SPI transfers consisting of 10 to 180 bytes.

The Hub AO posts many different events to the Spi AO with all of the information needed for the Spi AO to do its job. The Spi AO posts events back to the Hub AO with the results when the SPI transfer is complete.

The issue is the framework begins processing the next Spi AO event while the DMA is still running in hardware from the previous event. This clobbers the currently running DMA transfer.

I am trying to use event deferral but the Hub AO has 6 orthogonal components each sending their own specific events to the Spi AO. Even after combining many different events, I still need over 10 different deferral queues and most all events except for the very first event are deferred. Also recalling the deferred events changes the order that they originally arrived in and starves some of the orthogonal components depending on the deferral queue recall order. I see no efficient way to further combine the many different SPI transfers.