Menu

How to manage TCP/IP stack?

2023-11-24
2023-11-27
  • Giulio Dalla Vecchia

Hi all,

I'm studying the LWIP QP example, where the TCP/IP is running on a dedicated AO. I'm thinking what is the best solution if I need to use other protocols that need to use the TCP/IP stack. For example, if I need to use Modbus on TCP/IP, or I need to connect to a cloud to download/publish some information, I need to call the TCP/IP stack APIs. I think I have two possibility:

1. Create an AO Network Manager to handle the TCP/IP stack. Create some events that can manage the requests to open/close a socket, send/receive data to/from a socket. In this case, I protect the access to the TCP/IP stack and the others AO that need to call a TCP/IP stack API, will post an event to the AO Network Manager.

2. Create an AO that manage multiple orthogonal regions. One region will be deticated to manage the TCP/IP stack, another region will manage the Modbus on TCP/IP call the TCP/IP stack API directly (it is running on the same AO so there is not any concurrency problems), another region that manages the cloud communication, and so on. Practically each module of the software that need to call TCP/IP stack will be manage inside an orthogonal region of the main AO.

I'm curious about what you think about that.

Have a nice day!

• Gawie de Vos

Gawie de Vos - 2023-11-24

Hi Giulio

I have implemented similar lwIP requirements by implementing the orthogonal pattern with great success. Where the "main" HSM handles all the TCP/IP stack connection related functionality and only once connected with IP address, then the other orthogonal HSM's comes into play - handling higher layer protocols. Basically your option 2.

Cheers,
    Gawie

• Harry Rostovtsev

Where the "main" HSM handles all the TCP/IP stack connection related functionality and only once connected with IP address, then the other orthogonal HSM's comes into play - handling higher layer protocols. Basically your option 2.