Menu

JAMULUS on a Real Time Linux PC

2020-03-24
2020-07-11
  • Vincenzo Fantacone

Hi Volker,

I'm a musician and I have a Band.
    I would be very much interested in buying a Linux PC configure for
    working as a Real Time Machine on which a Jamulus server runs!
    I don't know which is the motivation that moved you for
    developping such great Idea, but if you make an offer for selling it to private,
    please let me know. If you want you cas see it also has a donation that I make
    for co-financing your project. I do not want to habe any exclusive on the
    final product, it has to remain an open souce project, but you should
    configure a Linux PC for me able to run my Private Jamulus Rehearsal Sever...
    Please, let me know!... any way thank you for your great Idea and for giving access
    to it to everybody!
    Music will rescue us! :-)
    Ciao
    Vincenzo

• Gilgongo

Gilgongo - 2020-03-24

Hi Vincenzo!

First let me point out that I'm not the creator of Jamulus. That's Volker Fischer and he deserves all the thanks for this project. I'm just a random guy on the forum. :-)

However, can you explain a bit more about why you would be interested in buying a machine pre-configured with a private Jamulus server on it? It's an interesting idea, but I'm not sure what the main reason for it would be.

For example: is it because you do not have the skills to set one up yourself? That's of course a legitimate reason, although installing and configuring a Jamulus server is comparatively easy (I would say easier than setting up a Wordpress installation, for example).

As you imply, organising hardware and the distibution of it would be a large undertaking, so the advantages of that would need to be large. If there are enough people out there who feel they do not have the skills to install a Jamulus server (on Linux at least - on Windows it's even easier!) then do you think we need more of a "beginners guide" that assumes less knowledge?