Menu

Sync KeePass to Android Galaxy S7

ThomasBock
2016-07-06
2016-07-08
  • ThomasBock

ThomasBock - 2016-07-06

Hello Experts:

I have two question pertaining bi-directinal syncing of KeePass data from a) laptop to Android phone and b) Android phone to laptop. First, to put things into context, please allow me to provide first some background.

Background: I have been using SafeWallet (developed by SBSH) for several years. The syncing process between my laptop and my old BlackBerry phone was really simple. That is, I was able to sync both MS-Outlook (calendars, contacts) and the SafeWallet data via a single mouse-click (i.e., via BlackBerry's Desktop Manager).

New situation/challenge: I have now upgraded from the BlackBerry to a Samsung Galaxy S7. While I have figured out how to automatically sync MS-Outlook data, I have been unsuccessful to do the same with SafeWallet on my recently purchased Android/Galaxy phone. I contacted SBSH but, apparrently, they went out of business. Thus I have been investigating new options (e.g., KeePass) for storing/syncing passwords between laptop and phone.

My questions to you:
    1) Once I download KeePass to my laptop, how can I install the same on my Android phone?
    2) Once installed (I hope KeePass has a mobile version), can I automatically sync all my data preferably via a Wi-Fi connection (or even USB cable if necessary)? If so, how?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you for your help in advance.

Cheers,
    Tom

Last edit: ThomasBock 2016-07-06
  • wellread1

wellread1 - 2016-07-06

Android devices generally do not mount as mass storage devices via usb on Windows. Instead they use MTP or PTP which is very limited, and intended for transferring pictures and media (music) etc. to designated locations on the android device. While it may be possible to mount your device as mass storage, it is beyond the scope of this forum.