Menu

using DBAN at school - erasing old disks

Help
Rob
2022-05-24
2024-07-11
  • Rob

Rob - 2022-05-24

Hi, I'm an admin at a state high school - can I use DBAN to erase old disks?

• SEP

SEP - 2022-05-25

Yes sir, it is harder on the disks (because of the multi-pass erasure) but if you have sensitive information on those disks it's smarter to use DBAN then to just throw them away or give them away to a recycling center or otherwise.

If you use DBAN, even on the quick erase setting; it's much more effective then physical destruction.

• Rob

Rob - 2022-05-25

Yes, but I was more concerned if the license terms would allow it? We are a state high school and we must respect the law. And I have a lot of such computers before we recycle them. That's why I asked about it. It is true that we are not a business company - a commercial - but a state school. Because I don't know if I can use it at school?

• Grissess

Grissess - 2022-06-22

This project is distributed under the GNU General Public License, version 2 (or optionally the "Lesser" version of the same, but the exceptions there aren't particularly material unless you're developing software yourself).

You should read the (linked) text for details, but the basics are:
    - The project is distributed for use without any warranty, express or implied;
    - You have the right to ask for the source code of the project;
    - You are free to modify the source code of the project to suit your needs;
    - You may distribute the project yourself freely, provided you do not infringe the rights of others to request the source code (should you distribute a modified version--you have no liability to distribute versions you merely use if they are obtainable elsewhere);
    - You are otherwise free to do as you wish (including use the program in any way you see fit).