User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
27
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • rogue-tr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not for the faint of heart, using ClamAV as a backend means you'll get a lot of false positives but you'll learn a lot about which files your system needs to function correctly :) You'll have to turn it off now and then as it will strip files from a steam download requiring you to re-validate the cache of a game (not normally a lot to re-download, a couple of hundred K) or re-initiate a download through chrome due to file name obfuscation but in all honesty, these are minor things compared to knowing you are safe. I tried immunet for a while but it was causing me a lot of grief with moveslink/movescount, detecting it as a false positive no matter what I did. To add, it was quite bloated and the Ads annoyed me. Coming from a *nix background I always wanted something ClamAV based on windows and ClamWin just didn't quite cut it. It's a shame Clam Sentinel isn't part of ClamWin, even if it felt tacked on or a bit hacky it would give ClamWin that usefulness that I need it to have. As it is, it feels tacked on and hacky but in a good way :) ... it's lean and efficient and has only the mandatory functionality. Last thing I'll mention is, as a gamer I like my AV option to be lean, unobtrusive and easily switched off. I'm not stupid with my internet habits, I block Ads, and I'll rarely introduce something I don't completely trust onto my PC. I just don't need something as comprehensive as Avast!. Although I do recommend Avast! for anyone who is super paranoid or can't keep their system clean. ClamWin in combination with Clam Sentinel suits my needs exactly. And with ClamAV being one of the few AV products to detect and completely remove some really obscure viruses for me in the past, I have complete trust in it's abilities, even if it is a little too quick to quarantine sometimes. All the complaints about this product neglect to mention that the problem is to do with the ClamAV definitions. ClamAV determines what is or isn't a virus, not Clam Sentinel. Clam Sentinel does it's job just fine and you can always disable the suspicious file detection. Nice work ... and thank you.

    Posted 07/21/2014
  • sky14657
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On EVERY download, Sentinel detects suspicious files. EVERY temporary file of an install is a virus. The software doesn't ever detect REAL problems. A waste of time and pc ressources, not worth a second and a byte. I wasted far to much time getting all the files out of quarantine. Disabling quarantine gets you messages on EVERY download. What is this software good for? Just write a script that pops up a message on every download and you have the same thing.

    Posted 04/11/2014
  • donalf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't get it, 'sentinel' to install either from zip or exe. It seems to install then reports 'the file name, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect' recently had ramnit-94 trojan ...cleared it with clamwin .. I'm running XP in fusion under Mavericks, 10,9,1 on a i5 chipped Mac powerbook

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • jokx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for that license free and open source antivirus. And also for updating !

    Posted 02/09/2014
  • natthakit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice to see Clam Sentinel comes back alive again. 1.21 All cleaned & no false positive 0/47 now. ;)

    Posted 11/25/2013
  • anakincedric
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you :) :) :)

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • anakincedric
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you :) :) :)

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 05/11/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    clamsentinel works great

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • maxcook
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    clamsentinel is fast and easy to use

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • a11922256
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good and useful software

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • kalebwhite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • yanajohnson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    clamsentinel, Thanks for a lot of languages supporting.

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • collincarter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 10/27/2012
  • itscharmingtime
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Like this one folks.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • uninkami
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks, useful program

    Posted 10/08/2012
  • oid-3092050
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I rate Clam Sentinel as a good antivirus (AV). There are very few (if any) great AVs. It is very easy for most people to use Sentinel after they have read the Simple Guide, and all users should do so. It is perhaps the only AV choice for older computers. It is primarily a download file protector and will need some extra help if used by someone who thinks their antivirus should protect them from everything and refuse to take some responsibility for their own security--such as not verifying all new program files before installation, clicking on links in "strange" email, visiting questionable web sites, downloading torrents/porn, and downloading illegal files (keygens, cracked/copyright software). Even safe users should probably use Sentinel with Malwarebytes Free or another AV--be sure to exclude each AV's program folder, data/signature/quarantine folders (including ClamWin's) from the other AV to prevent any real-time conflicts and excess resource use. The Sentinel system monitor can detect and quarantine 30 malware files unzipped simultaneously to the same folder in about one or two seconds (Sentinel does not have to check with the Cloud or emulate a file), which is better than many commercial antivirus programs, but it may detect more false positives than commercial AVs. Many install/setup files and .dll files are "sloppy." These files may have some of the same characteristics as malware fles, and Clam Sentinel will detect them. The authors of such files only to install their programs. Even Microsoft is guilty of this at times, and you will see an important Windows file that does not have a digitally-signed signature, that is obfuscated with tools used by malware, or that does not use good programming practices. If Clam Sentinel quarantines such a file, it does not mean that Sentinel has failed--just that Sentinel is doing its job of protecting you. Here is a short description of how to treat downloaded files: disable the Sentinel system monitor, scan all downloaded files before installation with ClamWin and something else (AV/Jotti/VirusTotal), install (do not run) the file, enable the system monitor, run the file, watch for any false positives, scan any false positives (ClamWin, AV/Jotti/VirusTotal), and if they are really false, whitelist them in Sentinel. If this is too much for you to do, you should not be using Clam Sentinel! Regards, Robert Scroggins

    Posted 09/30/2012
  • refsworldlee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this application for a few months now. It has on occasion been of good value in rooting out some suspicious files (though the really bad ones have simultaneously been spotted by Microsoft Security Essentials). However, on my wife's machine, it has quarantined perfectly harmless files during download of bona fide games, which have corrupted the installations. On my machine, it has, tonight, decided that the Windows system files involved in starting up my Network (internet access) are suspicious. Therefore - I have had to uninstall it from my machine, and I think I may as well so the same for my wife's machine, as she doesn't always remember to turn it off before downloading her games (switching it off at any point rather defeats the whole object really). It is a shame that Clam Sentinel is ultimately let down by its failure to realise false positives when it sees them. Quarantining valid Windows files is an operating system sacrilege, unfortunately.

    Posted 09/27/2012
  • ryanparker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 09/13/2012
  • irenagrundig
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Useful tool, thanks!

    Posted 07/12/2012
  • janstephanlotz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great real-time-scanner-plugin-thingy for ClamAV, easy to use and an excellent example of how a free software can protect us.

    Posted 06/25/2012
  • kudlak
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great software! :)

    Posted 04/07/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you want to use ClamWin as your main/only antivirus, this project is a good step towards real time protection, but bare in mind that it is not yet as comprehensive or sophisticated as a "true" on-access guard.

    Posted 03/30/2012
  • blakecox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 03/26/2012
  • stefean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice programm and one reason more to use ClamWin, instead of other malware scanner. Keep up the good work!

    Posted 03/04/2012
Show next 5 reviews