CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
119
4
3
3
41
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • howling-wulf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    2014-10-29 COMES WITH SWEET-PAGE MALWARE! No warning or opt-out during install. Avoid!

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • jackbrownr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    VERY DANGEROUS MALWARE, DON'T INSTALL! It's not a joke, check Google & Wikipedia! I do not know how could this happen here. It's a shame for Sourceforge!

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • stringee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its exactly what I needed and performs without a flaw.

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • tmiller001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately, I'm unable to rate this with a favorable review. I read the various warnings about malware when downloading from other sites, especially camstudio.org, so I downloaded directly from sorceforge. Scanned the installer, no issues. Installed, no prompting for other apps, etc. OK. As soon as the installer finished, I selected Launch CamStudio and the first thing that came up was a message saying a new version is available and to download it from camstudio.org! Now, if this download from sourceforge is supposedly safe, why in the world would it try to update the software from a known malware site? I did not try to update as prompted and I uninstalled this immediately. I also downloaded the ZIP file from camstudio.org and a virus scan reported a problem. Erased the file from my system. I used to trust downloads from sourceforge, but no more.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • natthakit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CamStudio_2.7 r316 = Clean CamStudio_2.7.2 r326 = Contain [InstallCore] Malwarebytes will wipe it off in no time. If you download from sourceforge.net you'll get CamStudio_2.7 r316 this one clean.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • docnielsen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So many negative reviews. I downloaded CamStudio_2.7_r316_setup.exe and scanned it with virustotal, which found no bugs. I then installed it, ran it, and it worked just as expected with no spyware or anything. I suspect alle the negative comments are fake and/or spam.

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • zanuda82
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Never before have I seen that much software garbage silently installed with an app (web-site download), took me approximately half an hour to get rid of everything, including CamStudio itself. Rage aside, CamStudio (actually all the versions that I have previously tried to use) has another unpleasant issue - recording sound from the speakers requires working around the "WaveoutGetSelectControl()failed" error and changing the recording device in the microphone settings seems to be impossible (it's always reset to the default device, so I cannot select "stereo mixer" as suggested in some published solutions).

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't trust anything coming from SourceForge. SourceForge is pushing downloaders now.

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • petrouchka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer seems to contain a virus : https: //www.virustotal.com/fr/file/a199d27557e07a76d61c667665f36c2687865ebf29d8e4b082935eec96f47b60/analysis/1411892487/

    Posted 09/28/2014
  • razorwings18
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Like other software distributed via SourceForge, CamStudio's installer is ridden with bloatware packed in a VERY deceptive interface. Unless you know what you are doing, either stay away from this software (or SourceForge in general) or pay a lot of attention to what you agree to when you install.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • techineer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    8/31/2014 - I have to agree with the prior reviews....WARNING! After reading some comments on it, I thought I could avoid the unwanted add-ons. I was wrong. I'm now fighting to rid my system of unwanted adware and what appears to be a virus. The installation opens a screen that first installs SearchProtect and appears that you must accept the terms to proceed. This is not the case. Clicking 'Decline' will take you to the next screen without installing (maybe!). The next screen is also an undesirable program, and implies that you must accept to proceed. Decline it. This MIGHT give you a clean install of the program, but I don't trust it anymore. Not knowing this, I accepted the first screen (SearchProtect) and realizing that it was only the PUP, I unchecked the 'options' to install stuff. I should have backed out then. It still installed something that Norton could not remove, and the manual instructions couldn't help me find something that still remains. Trust me, you DON'T want SearchProtect. (Google it!) If I can get rid of that, maybe I can get around to trying the actual program.

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • lukaszsa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is software with viruses and advertisment. WTF software from SourceForge? From website with free open source soft?? Are you kidding me?

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • garygo7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Stay far away from this. I am careful when installing software but this thing loaded lots of malware. I think I opted out of all suspicious offers, but I still got infected. I had to use Avast, Malwarebytes and browser settings to repair my computer. The program author may be well intentioned but the installation process is evil. You have been warned!

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • nutbuttercrunch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On their homepage camstudio.org, they link to malware. I had to delete folders from installer, tons of keys from registry, uninstall multiple apps and Malwarebytes and SuperAntiSpyware still found more than 100 files that needed removing after that! Any software that allows a malicious app to be placed on their homepage should never be used!

    Posted 08/07/2014
  • dotnetesse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'ved used CamStudio on and off for the last few years, and it's OK, it gets the job done. I experienced issues with either video and/or sound here and there when I used it. I never experienced any of the spyware/malware/adware issues, but it was always a concern. Thanks to a comment here on sourceforge I tried Screenpresso for the first time today and I was impressed. The free version has branding in the video recordings, but the single-license price seems very reasonable. So far a much better experience than with CamStudio. UPDATE: FYI, the last time I downloaded and installed CamStudio was about 1 year or more ago on a computer that I no longer use. After reading some of the terrible reviews here regarding the spyware/malware/adware, it seems that these issues exist in the most recent version(s). As such, I will NOT be installing the most recent version. I'll stick with Screenpresso for now.

    Posted 06/25/2014
  • chasing-cars
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware the main project page at camstudio.org currently has a malware version of this download linked on their main page. "hxxps://..../CamStudio_Setup_v2.7.2_r326_(build_19Oct2013).exe" is the malicious link. Do not download that version. The malicious file is around 640kbs in size.

    Posted 06/24/2014
  • kbzombie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great software! BE AWARE, there are some evil little pricks out there distributing garbage under the camstudio name! Only get your installer from here on sourceforge!

    Posted 05/17/2014
  • mariahernandez4
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Try screenpresso its a really cool screen capture software.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • rrbd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fine, but Avira finds Adware

    Posted 05/10/2014
  • shawnlower
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's pretty rare that I miss the opt-out hidden in license agreements. Ended up with loads of malware/spyware/adware garbage littered around my system. Also: lost the first recording due to crashing. [ I will, you should ] probably just keep looking.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • figerty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not the best out there. But not bad either. Not sure what Installer you folks were using or where you got it from but I saw nothing unusual in the Installer I got from Sourceforge. Plus, knowing the installer system they use, "Inno Setup" and how it's configured etc, they have only added one page to the and to explain what has been done with Cam Studio etc. Get over the bad reviews already.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • dig4guano
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The CamStudio_2.7_r316_setup.exe file from Sourceforge is OK. You only see the GNU license in the installer. If you see any other agreements back out of it. The latest version (linked from the website) has all the garbage.

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • robert-vazan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware/malware. As many other people have reported, this tool will install CRAPWARE by default. Sure there is a checkbox or a button somewhere to disable the crap, but really, how many people will find it? This is ADWARE. Essentially hijacking previously opensource software. I am sure they will not get any contributions from opensource developers with this crap in.

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • secondsun24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD this software. DO NOT TRUST THIS INSTALLATION! I had an older version, which worked pretty well. I wanted something that would be able to record more easily at a higher framerate & thought the newer version would be great. I downloaded & installed it only to find that there were SEVERAL pieces of malware installed as well, though I specifically did not indicate during the installation that I wanted anything else installed. Like other reviewers, even now ,after I have "successfully" uninstalled the malware, I still have problems. Namely, my Windows 8.1 laptop won't boot up & all my restore points have been corrupted. It's looking more & more like I'm going to have to wipe it & start over again.

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • roughmystic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded this program because I needed a basic desktop/screen recorder to record an important skype session. My first several tests went normally and it looked as if it would do the job just fine. However, after the skype session was over (and it lasted for about 1 hour), I pressed stop and got some kind of error. As it turns out, this program is unable to record and save anything over 2 GB (I am not the only one with this problem). The output file in that case becomes corrupted and often cannot be recovered. So I lost a very valuable and important recording that is impossible to recover and make up for now. I am very disappointed in this program and I don't understand why it is offered for download at all.

    Posted 03/21/2014
Show next 25 reviews