Menu

pyparsing module is not newbie friendly

2004-12-13
2013-05-14
  • Steven Siew

Steven Siew - 2004-12-13

Paul McGuire,

Your module is very powerful and easy to use IF you know how to use it properly.

But to be popular, it must also be easy to learn by newbies and this is where the documentation of your module falls flat into the mud.

Let me give you an example of how hard it is to learn to use your module.

Say I'm a newbie and I have found your module on some python website. Wow! Let's learn how to use this wonderful module.

Step 1) Read the "Using the pyparsing module" document found in directory when I untar the pyparsing-1.2.2.tar.gz file

Step 2) Run the greeting.py python script.
    $ python greeting.py
    Hello, World! -> ['Hello', ',', 'World', '!']

Step 3) Copy the script and make changes to it.
    $ cp greeting.py siew.py
    $ vi siew.py
    $ cat siew.py
    # greeting.py
    #
    # Demonstration of the parsing module, on the prototypical "Hello, World!" example
    #
    # Copyright 2003, by Paul McGuire
    #
    from pyparsing import Word, alphas

# define grammar
    greet = Word( alphas ) + "," + Word( alphas ) + "!"

# input string
    hello = "Hello!, World!"

# parse input string
    print hello, "->", greet.parseString( hello )

Step 4) Run the changed siew.py script.
    $ python siew.py
    Hello!, World! ->
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "siew.py", line 16, in ?
        print hello, "->", greet.parseString( hello )
      File "/home/siewsk/python/pyparsing-1.2.2/examples/pyparsing.py", line 503, in parseString
        loc, tokens = self.parse( instring.expandtabs(), 0 )
      File "/home/siewsk/python/pyparsing-1.2.2/examples/pyparsing.py", line 452, in parse
        loc,tokens = self.parseImpl( instring, loc, doActions )
      File "/home/siewsk/python/pyparsing-1.2.2/examples/pyparsing.py", line 1169, in parseImpl
        loc, exprtokens = e.parse( instring, loc, doActions )