Menu

Feature Requests - Fast Scrolling

Zen
2014-06-27
2014-07-02
  • Zen

Zen - 2014-06-27

Hi there.
    I have 2 feature requests that would make using NPP much easier.
    As I am a web developer, have many large files open, much scrolling and alot of tabs.

1) middle-click-drag should allow to scroll up or down, or sideways, the page -- just like it does in a web browser.

2) hovering over the open file tabs and scrolling the wheel should move the tab list back and forth, just as it does in a web browser (same as clicking the [<][>] little arrow icons).

having these fast-scroll options would allow me to navigate my files so much faster.

Thanks

• THEVENOT Guy

THEVENOT Guy - 2014-07-01

Hello Zen,

• For your first point, I'm afraid it will NOT be implemented soon. See, to that purpose, the answer of Neil Hodgson ( Scintilla author ), in the Features I am unlikely to do paragraph, at the address below :

http://www.scintilla.org/ScintillaToDo.html

• For your second point, Notepad++ do have this behaviour :-) Start N++ and open several files. Then, while clicking down the mouse right button, move up/down the mouse wheel => A list of all the opened files is displayed, in a light yellow background. Then, you can select your file and switch to it, as soon as you release the mouse !!

Best Regards

guy038

Last edit: THEVENOT Guy 2014-07-01
  • Loreia2

Loreia2 - 2014-07-02

Hi Guy,

Then, while clicking down the mouse right button, move up/down the mouse wheel

I didn't know about this. Unfortunately, after trying it out I got this:
    http://i.snag.gy/jn6Hm.jpg

Application got frozen, I had to kill process to restart it. So, don't try this out unless you saved all your buffers.

Regards,
    Loreia

Last edit: Loreia2 2014-07-02
  • THEVENOT Guy

THEVENOT Guy - 2014-07-02

Hi Zen and Ivan,