Menu

RE: Boot failures w 3.2.8 & serial joydrv's

Developers
2008-06-04
2013-05-16
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • Gene Heskett

Gene Heskett - 2008-06-04

So I built a joydrv_6551L.sb that saves the slot select, put it on the slot 0, does its thing and then restores the original slot # on exit.  This read, according the <D.BtBug as 3 on the first boot attempt, but it still seems to do a puls pc,cc into never never land, except that about 10 minutes later, while I'm studying the listing, up popped a green screen with part of sysgo's output on it, but it then failed at the date t display.

On several reboots, including a powerdown reset for about 30 seconds, it is now displaying a '/' in place of the 3.  To display a '/' there, with this code:
      lda   #'0
      adda  SlotSave, pcr
      jsr   <D.BtBug
    it has to be reading $FF from SlotSave,pcr, which was originally written:

SlotSlct  fcb  MPISlot
    SlotSave  fcb  MPISlot scratchpad space
    [...]
      lda  >MPI.Slct which assembles as $B6FF7F 
      sta  SlotSave,pcr

I just ran through the assembled defs 3 times without finding a location, hopefully in DP, that records the current MPI.Slot!  From that I have to assume that $FF7F is both readable and writable.

So how do we keep track of it?

--
    Cheers, Gene

• Gene Heskett

Gene Heskett - 2008-06-07

Here is the email:
      ------------
      Hi Guys;

>The size limit applies to 6809 boot files not 6309. It could well be a
      >'new' bug but Boisy reminded me this was discussed previously in the
      >defunct NitrOS-9 newsgroup/mailing list.
      >I don't recall this existing in stock OS-9 Level2 or the original
      >NitrOS-9 (Gale Force) versions. There were massive changes made to
      >modules when Boisy decided there should be as much common source code as
      >possible so Level1, Level2, Level3, and 6809/6309 could be generated
      >from the same source code. This bug could easily have been introduced in
      >this period.
      >