Menu

error 5 when try to update

cathy
2013-11-16
2013-11-16
  • cathy

cathy - 2013-11-16

Hi,

I am not a techie but I am eager to use this program. However, when I opened it, a message said to update to version 1.10.0.0. When I try to install the newer version, I get this message:

An error occurred while trying to replace the existing file:
    DeleteFile failed; code 5
    Access is denied

I uninstalled the older version but still get this message. What do I need to do to make this work?

Please remember that I am not a technical expert.

Thank you.

• madproton

madproton - 2013-11-16

Hi,

Before installing a new version, you need to make sure that the old version is not running. So before you update, check if the program is running. Check if you can see the program in the taskbar(the long bar at the bottom of the screen) or in the notification tray(the group of tiny icons on the right of the taskbar). The program's icon is an orange "A". If it is running, click on the program and select File->Exit from the menu. When the program has exited, run the installer for the new version.

FYI:
    When you ran the installer for the new version, the old version of program was still running. That is why it failed.
    Even after you have uninstalled it and tried to run the installer for the new version, the program was still running. That is why is failed again.
    *There is a message that is displayed when installing a new version that reads "Please close MadAppLauncher before continuing". You need to select File->Exit from the Menu to accomplish this. It might be a bit confusing because clicking on the [x] of the window might not close it because there is an option to just minimize it when the [x] is clicked.

You are most welcome. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask. :-)

• cathy

cathy - 2013-11-16

Hi Madproton,

Thank you for the quick response.