WinAVR Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
49
0
2
2
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    PATH! PATH! PATH is overwritten! ...anyone here? >:-(

    Posted 10/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It had ruined my PATH variable, many programs stopped working. :( As I have already uninstalled the program, the PATH stored in path1.log was renamed to path2.log, updated with current (wrong) path and deleted. I have found some PATH in this registry: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Session Manager\Environment

    Posted 12/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything worked perfectly. No difficulties with my 735-character-long PATH environment. Everything just worked. It is really great to have a command line driven MAKE capability instead of having to fight the Arduino software which tries to hold you by the hand too much. Give me CLI control instead of 'choices') anytime... Thanks to all the developers.

    Posted 11/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software works exactly as advertised. Just keep in mind that it's command line, so I wouldn't call it easy to use. I had no problems with installation, not even with the PATH variable. If you are worried about PATH simply save the contents in case you have to restore it later. You can use the command "path > path.txt" to copy the contents to a text file.

    Posted 03/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is nice... Assuming you can get it to work for you. I read some of the reviews and I didn't want to take the risk of winavr overwriting my path directory, so I unchecked that option for the install. However, I couldn't use things like avrdude without changing the directory and running the executable. But, there is a work around that I want to share that could save someone a lot of time if they don't want to take a risk like me. Create a file called "winavr.bat" in "C:\WinAVR-20100110" with the following contents: set PATH=%PATH%;C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin;C:\WinAVR-20100110\utils\bin cmd If you want to use WinAVR, just simply double click on the .bat file and you'll be able to use avrdude, make, etc. I do not take credit for this. I would have just given the link, but I would never expect someone to click on a link in a review. Go to section 2.1.4 of this page: www.newae.com/sidechannel/cwdocs/installing.htmlokpoijoiu

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This deleted my windows PATH environment variable. It should not be possible to download harmful software like this. See SuperUser "How to extract environment variables from system restore point, Windows 7 64-bit" for instructions on how to recover your deleted PATH variable.

    Posted 06/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Apparently the developer is not aware that Windows software should be installed in 'Program Files' or 'Program Files (x86)'. By default WinAVR is installed at the root. He allows installation to the standard directories, but when you install to these directories, the tools no longer work (probably because the developer does not know how to handle spaces and '('/')' in paths. These are allowed in Windows but not in Linux. The easiest fix for this error is to install in standard directory, and then create a symbolic link at the root. (something like: mklink /D C:\WinAVR C:\Program Files (x86)\WinAVR), and then fix up the environment variables to point to the right place. Also, the avr-gcc -mstrict-X option is not supported in the latest trunk binary, which ends up breaking a lot of make files.

    Posted 05/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CAUTION: The installer clobbers %PATH%. There's a path1.log file stored along side the uninstaller which you can use to rescue your %PATH% Environment Variable, but it will be deleted if you uninstall (in that case, your only recourse is to do a System Restore).

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not working for windows 8.1 can anyone suggest anything plz nedd urgently to work on it

    Posted 12/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It saves my time. highly recommended

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very usefull and helpfull

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, thanks for all!

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice program.! Thanks for sharing.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This file for the current release (WinAVR-20100110-install.exe (28.8 MB)) has a virus: See VirusTotal File name: WinAVR-20100110-install.exe Detection ratio: 1 / 28 Analysis date: 2012-07-10 17:42:41 UTC ( 3 months ago ) Anti-Virus: Rising Result: Trojan.Win32.Generic.12875CCF The above date is well past the release date of the software.

    Posted 10/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing job. Thanks all You Rock!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great

    Posted 09/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works perfectly.

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is absolute crap. Instead of appending something to the PATH environment variable (Win7, 64bit) this installer overwrites it, leaving the rest of your system completely screwed. DO NOT INSTALL

    Posted 08/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project with deep level of windows integration, but have some problems

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very controversial, but a worthy program

    Posted 07/24/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks