TightVNC Icon

TightVNC

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (40) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (40)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
32
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Nice made project with handy server side / client side functions

vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

This really sucks. Can't get support for their command line switches to install. The manual just sucks. I am posting what I tried to do in a batch file because it does not work. After install the server runs as a service when I have it set to not be that way. Need silent install with it not running as a service and once you delete the startup service it does not hold the password. I did on twitter message about it and they told me to contact them on their support email and have not heard from them at all. Not even a acknowledgement of the email. Here is what I setup per their manual. msiexec /i tightvnc-2.5.2-setup-32bit.msi /quiet /norestart ADDLOCAL=Server SERVER_REGISTER_AS_SERVICE=0 SET_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_PASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_PASSWORD=password Once I start the server it has a red outline around it because did not hold the password.

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Relatively speaking, this is the best remote desktop tool I've found so far! I just wanted something to remote into my linux fedora machine in our room upstairs from my downstairs windows machine (wife sleeps later than I do). I tried teamviewer and it worked fine for a couple of months, then I couldn't connect. I read some reviews that had me worried they might try to accuse me of using their software for commercial purposes (nope), but at the very least I wasn't so sure if I wanted them to monitor me so closely. I then tried google remote desktop. Every few minutes I had to run up to my fedora machine and let google know I didn't want to get kicked off. Booted that. There have been a couple of minor annoyances with tightvnc. I had to disable encryption to get it to work, no biggie since there is only the two computers on my home network and I'm behind my router and a switch. Also I couldn't type some characters in from my windows machine - ex: ) and (. Again, easy enough to get by. I would just run upstairs and type in what I wanted,then copy the characters and paste them if I needed to use them again.

    Posted 05/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best open source VNC software that I have seen for Windows. The source code is very cleanly written and it compiles without problems on Visual Studio.

    Posted 05/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I hit an ugly corner case with Xvfb (via xvfb-run) which was causing some mission critical software of mine to core dump (due to a nasty XServer I/O error, which I didn't feel like tracing). Note, I'm not an expert on X internals. But, no worries... TightVNC to the rescue! Great job guys, thanks 1e6!

    Posted 07/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This really sucks. Can't get support for their command line switches to install. The manual just sucks. I am posting what I tried to do in a batch file because it does not work. After install the server runs as a service when I have it set to not be that way. Need silent install with it not running as a service and once you delete the startup service it does not hold the password. I did on twitter message about it and they told me to contact them on their support email and have not heard from them at all. Not even a acknowledgement of the email. Here is what I setup per their manual. msiexec /i tightvnc-2.5.2-setup-32bit.msi /quiet /norestart ADDLOCAL=Server SERVER_REGISTER_AS_SERVICE=0 SET_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_PASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_PASSWORD=password Once I start the server it has a red outline around it because did not hold the password.

    Posted 10/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, New 2.5.2 version is very good for 64bits machines. I'm waiting for documentation of .msi switches. I want prepare unattend installation package.

    Posted 08/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you for such interesting project and good implementation

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice project, would even be more better if they told you how to use the MSI switches

    Posted 06/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice!

    Posted 03/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good work:) Thanks

    Posted 03/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good work:)

    Posted 03/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project, thanks a lot for sharing

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    TightVNC is really supporting remote copy / paste, and, in my opinion, superior to UltraVNC. UltraVNC does not properly handle special key combinations (for example, ALT left arrow key to navigate within the application, etc.). Copy / paste from UltraVNC requires the use of menus to be reliable; attempt to copy paste using the CTRL + C / Ctrl + V is unreliable. TightVNC is behaving exactly as expected with the use of special keys and, thus, the overall winner for advanced users who do not rely on the mouse to interact with the environment.

    Posted 03/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, bloody brilliant.... I am amazed by people who develop these types of apps, I used RealVNC for years and in my opinion TightVNC outshines it by far, I only played with UltraVNC.. But, this fits the bill in every respect, I have no problems donating to great work such as this. thanks const_k for all the great work

    Posted 01/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful project

    Posted 11/03/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    TightVNC 1.3.x support Multi-Bytes characters clipboard transfer, that's why I use TightVNC 1.3.x, not 2.0.x. 旧版本支持剪贴板中文字符传输,2.0 版本则不支持。

    Posted 10/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works.. What else do you need..

    Posted 08/24/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This app works flawlessly every time and everywhere I use it. Thanks a million for free open source software that rivals anything that is available commercially.

    Posted 01/10/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    sger yhjkhlu

    Posted 09/02/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi To perform a standing wrist curl, a barbell can be held in both hands with the palms facing backward. The bar should be behind the lifter. The same motion should be performed as in the seated wrist curl. The range of motion will be smaller but the standing wrist curl offers the benefit of providing the most stress on the target muscles at their peak contraction _______________________________

    Posted 08/11/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    非常棒!

    Posted 06/07/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 2.0 is easy to install, stable, supports fast user switching in Windows and works great as a service in Windows Vista. Could use a bit less CPU time though... Since VNC traffic is not encrypted, I recommend creating a TLS tunnel with stunnel (www.stunnel.org).

    Posted 05/21/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good features

    Posted 05/08/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent Programa!

    Posted 03/26/2010
Show next 10 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks