VeraCrypt Icon

Open source disk encryption with strong security for the Paranoid

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
16
3
1
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lost 2TB of data after first use. Couldn't mount any encrypted partition on Two PC. Terrible . Lost data . Why put such bad software for people to use ! Should be removed .!! No support. My data is very valuable !! Don't use this software if you value your data..

    Posted 07/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works flawless. btw, there is an article about veracrypt in the newest german ct magazine (no 14 2016). thanks a ton for developing.

    Posted 06/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Although the UEFI version is still in beta, I'm greatly impressed with what I've seen.

    Posted 06/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Take encryption into your own hands! Great project! TrueCrypt who?

    Posted 04/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great performance once you've got everything setup, but the learning curve is long for average users. Painfully slow booting if the default iteration is used. Have to use low custom PIM for a reasonable boot time, but it's not clear what PIM is from the user interface.

    Posted 02/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The most powerful, convenient and secure piece of crypto saftware I have ever seen! Thank you very much, Mounir IDRASSI for your tremendous work! With great respect, algreider8.

    Posted 12/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Это очень крутой шифровальщик жестких дисков, включая виртуальные! Добавил программу на свой сайт континентсвободы.рф . Я очень обрадовался, когда после прекращения разработки трукрипт, веракрипт попался мне на глаза. И очень качественный софт, не все на русском, некоторые окна мастеров не переведены на русский. СПАСИБО ЗА КАЧЕСТВЕННЫЙ СОФТ!!!!

    Posted 11/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great application. Keeps me more relaxed considering the rise in identity theft and how some home invasions I've read are so clean and organized and the robbers only look for computer equipment. Just yesterday, however, (and this is why I didn't give it 5 stars) I had Double Commander open and then unlocked my drive using Veracrypt and the directory structure was there but no files on my drive. Although this was my backup drive, almost gave me a heart attack. I opened it again and same thing. I closed Double Commander and then I saw all my files. Normally, I'd like to re-create the scenario and test it again, but, not seeing my files isn't something I like to experience again. So, unfortunately, I'm not testing it again, especially if somehow it actually causes some more serious issue with my files. I'm using 1.0f-2 on 64-bit Linux.

    Posted 10/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In July 2015 I got a new laptop. I wanted to install TrueCrypt and found out that it has now been replaced with VeraCrypt (and others). I installed Vera Crypt and mounted a TC file on an external drive with no problem. One reviewer complaint that VC doesn't work with TC files. Maybe he/she made the same mistake as I did at first and didn't see the check box next to True Crypt Mode. So far, I love the program and I love most that it is so similar to True Crypt that I don't need to learn new ropes. I'm very little concerned about the CIA or the likes (and neither are they with me), my main concern is low level crooks that steel my laptop or files. And I'm certain that these guys don't know how to enter a "backdoor" any more than I do. Installed Vera Crypt on Windows7 Pro.

    Posted 07/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi All, just DL veracrypt and since veracrypt can open TC 7.1a i taught I give it a try. My encrypted 1GB folder is tc encrypted and vera can't open it. TC has no problem to open the folder. Veracrypt takes it's time and at the end it told me the password is wrong. Obviously not since TC opened it right-away without hesitation. I guess I have to stick with TC. Vera would have been a good replacement for TC.

    Posted 06/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app! Thanks to author.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really very good!

    Posted 04/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best successor for TrueCrypt. It adds more secure initial decryption of an encrypted volume. That adds to the load time, but also makes it more resistant to a brute force attack. Thank you, Idrix!

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I echo previous sentiments about truecrypt. Thanks for keeping veracrypt free; hope to have it so forever...

    Posted 02/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not support OSX 10.4 or 10.5.

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using VeraCrypt for a while now, after the Trucrypt incident. Created a sourceforge account just to thank you guys, for all your effort! Very good tool, tons of good improvments and frequent updates. A++! Lovely design by the way! Also, thank you for keeping it multi-platform! As a linux user, I'm very happy with this :)

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your hard work in continuing the TrueCrypt legacy. Migrated over to VeraCrypt shortly after the TrueCrypt developers closed up shop and have had zero issues so far.

    Posted 12/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To cymbal86: Have substituted my trueCrypt containers with VeraCrypt ones for a month now. No crashes yet using Windows 8.1. - I am however a bit pissed off by the long mount time, even on a fast computer. D*

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Happy to see someone developed encryption app like truecrypt. but in windows 8.1 it crashed too much. please look in to this.

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very glad someone forked the TrueCrypt project and kept it alive. Thank you very much.

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent fork from truecrypt. Same functionalities and multi platform support and better algorithms for encryption.

    Posted 07/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To be accepted like the predesscesor truecrypt, will pass a long time, but hope it will be, and not serious bugs will be found. Congrats to the developer for enhacing the key generations througth stronger hashes implementations. Thanks for your excellent work.

    Posted 06/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, this project is in fact based on TrueCrypt. But, while TC uses some aged algorithmic parameters, VeraCrypt adapts them to a more recent context, improving security vastly. The developers reacted quickly on my problem report, so thumbs up!!

    Posted 10/19/2013

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks