TuxGuitar Icon

beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
86
3
1
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • smartden
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greate guitar tab editor and player!

    Posted 03/08/2016
  • lie6bassman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Only because Tux 1.3 will not work load are anything on my Windows 10 Please fix this... 1.2 works fine on it...

    Posted 02/16/2016
  • d0malaga
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great editor which I've used a long time ago, but quite a lot during the last year. And now even better with this new 1.3 release (the sound improvements are useful, haven't explored all other updates).

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • xtreye
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good idea but... UI is bulky and primitive. But actual problem is the development. It has stopped.

    Posted 09/30/2015
  • king-nothing
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program for Guitar. There should be some simpler way to load instruments via soundfonds, since this improves the sound a lot.

    Posted 09/28/2015
  • anupamsr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project and in linux land is in dire need of it. Don't know why we haven't had a new release in such SUCH a long time :(

    Posted 09/12/2015
  • eruiluvatar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After I reinstalled my Windows 8 after christmas, I couldn't get TuxGuitar to run anymore (cause I use JDK 1.8 and didn't want to try and install several other versions of Java). I was pissed and eventually got over it, until I just now visited the project website (google it) and found other versions with standalone Java Runtimes which solved the problem for me.

    Posted 02/10/2015
  • dugjonz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    TuxGuitar WAS great, until it broke under OS X 10.10 due to a bug in the old version of the JRE. Now the updated versions of JRE 7u71 or 8u25 that work with OS X 10.10 are incompatible with TuxGuitar, so I am dead in the water and all my tabs are lost.

    Posted 12/29/2014
  • fpetrot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool that I have been using for years to practice guitar. Not perfect, but still very good and well done.

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • rem666
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good software. I've been looking for something to replace guitar pro, and I must admit that TuxGuitar is even better in some aspects. It takes a bit to get used to, but it clearly worth it!

    Posted 09/23/2014
  • zoiner2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent, only really useful thing missing is an option to to apply parameters such as loudness to groups of notes / entire bars as well as individual notes.

    Posted 07/26/2014
  • madduckyent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pro: Super easy to pick up and use. Surprisingly powerful. Cons: Some non-functional features. The TAB entry method felt very comfortable for me (a new user of such software) to pick up. The player is about as good as most MIDI players, which is to say its not going to fool most listeners that it is such, but its more than passable to deliver ideas and preview your work. Editing note dynamics (forte, mezzoforte, etc) is a pain due to lack of ability to edit more than one note. Biggest gripe is that the export features don't work well: the musicXML files it exports may generate errors in other notation software which explains the files aren't valid musicXML files. They import incorrectly when this happens as well. The same or similar results may occur with MIDI files exported using Tuxguitar.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • macman777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you need a decent midi to guitar tab -lead or chords-don't waste your time with this app. Almost all notes are on the same string with jumps up to ten notes! Very badly done. Very badly done, in fact ,just crap.

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • holyeternalove
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thankyu

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • vinayan123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    cool stuff! so there are some developers from the school of Rock!! No need to depend on the costly commercial licenses when you can read guitar pro files in this one...Just tried 'tornado of souls' .gp5 in ubuntu and it is amzing!

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • uvyxjlmfraxgraj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FAIL. Installed OK, tried to run it and... www dot 100101001 dot com / 100101001links / tuxfail.htm

    Posted 12/08/2013
  • ycollette
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice tool. Via the fluidsynth plugin, I am able to have a very realistic sound when playing guitar pro files. Quite easy to use and a lot of possibility (exporting track into ardour / qtractor; playing along, etc...).

    Posted 09/20/2013
  • disfunzione
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/08/2013
  • petrykvovkovich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project, thanks for giving out

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • richmanandre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It saves my time. highly recommended

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • thomashrabe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. Been using it for years!

    Posted 04/12/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • emosim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software, thanks to everyone involved in its development!

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • feihuale123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hi , can you tell me how to run the TuxGuitar project , I can't find the sources ,for example, the red error ,icon.png: not found ,how to config the sources ? contact me Email:feihuale@163.com QQ:1030506672

    Posted 03/12/2013
  • sem78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job! Like this project! +1

    Posted 02/13/2013
Show next 25 reviews