Tail for Win32 Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
10
3
0
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I opened a log file as described in the readme.txt expecting that it would tail this file - that is allow you to see the file change. It simply doesn't work - well not for me on a Win7 machine. The only way you can get it to update is by opening the log file in notepad - then this WinTail program updates! This is my experience and therefore makes this program worst than useless since I had to spend time finding out that it does less than periodically opening in notepad.

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software! But i miss a search function!

    Posted 01/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I could open a 13 GB text file with this tool. Nice!

    Posted 12/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very bad looking app, but indeed useful, overall 4.0

    Posted 11/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Anyone know where the documentation is for this app. It works reasonably well, is fast to display changes to logs, however, it is a bit flaky. Can't save workspace, what is a non-workspace vs a workspace. Why can't I add files to "workspace". Why can't I save workspaces, this is particularlly annoying because every time you start it up, you have to re-add all your logs even though there is a setting to load on open. Anyone know where the docs are?

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The update speed is tragic (take about 30+ seconds to notice any changes) and the GUI could use some modernizing.

    Posted 09/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There's another Tail for Windows project hosted here in SF that looks much better than this one. If you search for "WinTail" you'll find it.

    Posted 08/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dont use it ! Virus contained in this project

    Posted 12/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program compares itself to tail for unix, except that unix's tail is very fast to update. This program decides to once in a blue moon, and there's no way to force it it seems.

    Posted 10/02/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm. Will the code author please get in touch with me as I would like to license the code and build it into my desktop app dashboard for log file viewing. (rtischer@hiveware.com).

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tailforwin32 works wonderful.

    Posted 06/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Parab�ns

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There's not much such useful tools like this. Thanks to Author :-). Janusz Delta.

    Posted 04/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very helpfull program !!!

    Posted 03/22/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/20/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great utility but the pause doesn't work. May sound trivial but if you see a hit on a keyword what's the next thing you want to do? Scroll back and look at the entire line. You can't do that if you're watching something like logs from a busy mail server. Is this a dead project?

    Posted 03/28/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pros: It works, doesn't need to be installed and uses windows instead of the command line. Cons: Pausing and workspaces don't work.

    Posted 02/11/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There hasn't been a release in donkeys years, but it's still a useful tool. What do you get over a command line tail you might ask? Well mainly color highlighting, but also it behaves like a normal window that can be resized unlike a windows command prompt. I go though periods of using it a lot.

    Posted 11/25/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No further development? I think https://sourceforge.net/projects/wintail2/ is a better choice for file monitor.

    Posted 07/30/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks