ophcrack Icon

A Windows password cracker based on rainbow tables

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
111
5
13
3
27
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used Ophcrack in the past with XP and Win 7 with good results but I have a Win 10 Asus with dual displays and Linux does not seem to be happy with it. 'No X server running' or 'cannot connect to X server :0.0' errors seeming to indicate a problem talking to my display. Tried 1 display at a time with no change. Text is coming across fine. Thought I could just run text mode but so far I cannot find any instructions or commands for running Ophcrack in command-line. Anyone able to help out to be able to run either way? I would give a Good rating if I could run the program as I have in the past. Going to the forum link takes me to the review page.

    Posted 11/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    flawless. keep up the good work.

    Posted 09/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Last livecd 3.6.0 version does not work because it does not have table. livecd version 3.4.0 was very good.

    Posted 08/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a monumental waste if time. Download two, 600+ meg programs (ver 3.6.0 and 3.4.0) and have neither contain the tables needed to work. Yes, I know it's free, but a free piece of crap is still a piece of crap. The program may be free but my time isn't. DON'T BOTHER!!!

    Posted 07/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Boot my Windows VM from Ophcrack ISO file and it failed to detect my hard drive so it's useless for me. Eventually I removed the password with another program PCUnlocker. Additionally, the rainbow tables are too expensive, I think.

    Posted 06/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    regarding some of the previous comments about ophcrack vista 3.6.0 not loading tables, I have same problem, and have a solution. Problem: Boot ophcrack vista 3.6.0 live from CD, then see: "Tables found: /media/sr0/tables/vista_proba_free/table0.bin" then see: "Did not find the requested table(s) ... [same as above]" What happens is that the auto configure program "ophcrack-launcher.sh" that is run automatically or manually, found the table, but passed the full table path to ophcrack, instead of just the directory that the table is in. Here is the solution: Edit that file to fix (you need to know vi, I can't help you on that): vi /usr/bin/ophcrack-launcher.sh Find line at almost the end "Starting ophcrack", and in the next line change -t $table_inline to -t $(dirname $table_inline) then try ophcrack-launcher.sh again. This change will be lost at every reboot. If you can't edit that file, you can always run ophcrack by hand from command line: ophcrack -d / \ -t /media/sr0/tables/vista_proba_free \ -w /media/sda2/Windows/System32/config \ -n 9 \ -o /tmp/ophcrack.txt \ -g The 9 is one plus the number of CPU cores in your system. The sda2 is where the windows hard drive shows on your system. Both will likely need to be changed to suit your setup. Works fine after this. John Refling

    Posted 06/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Downloaded fine, but had malware TSPY_PWDUMP_CA25037B.TOMC

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ophcrack-vista-livecd-3.6.0.iso doesn't have tables. Kinda makes it useless to use. When trying to download it with the browsers provided, I just keep getting TLS errors.

    Posted 05/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ophcrack-vista-livecd-3.6.0.iso does not load tables automatic to the program, version 3.4 works.

    Posted 03/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sadly this will no longer work with the online login of windows (8, 10)

    Posted 02/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    HOW pls i can just download Vista_special tables?? pls help fast

    Posted 02/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NIS seems very determined to keep this file from my system. Some password recovery tools send your passwords, keys etc to a third party. When you install it (if you get this far) use the now free ENT (Essential Net Tools) from Tamosoft and check the outbound IP of any module associated with program. I intend staying clear.

    Posted 12/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How to Download Vista Special?

    Posted 12/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    well i must be that 1% thaT THE PROGRAM DOESNT WORK FOR LOL been stuck on sending discover for cpl hrs now and nothing else happening

    Posted 10/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Every time I forgot a Windows password, I will try Ophcrack firstly to recover the password. When the tool can't find the password, I then use PCUnlocker Live CD to bypass the password.

    Posted 07/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A+++++++++++++++++

    Posted 05/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is nice for bruteforce .. ⋙ Gmail Password Cracker ⋙ www.PASSWORDCRACKER.me

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 3.6 didn't work for me (refused to load tables from LiveCD, USB stick, or anywhere else I tried), but 3.4 works perfectly. Recommend anyone having trouble with 3.6 to get hold of the older version

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While I've used previous versions of Ophcrack with success on XP, the Ophcrack 3.6 live disk failed to crack passwords for Windows 7 Professional. I also installed the 64 bit version, then selected and downloaded the available Vista tables (since no free Windows 7 tables were available), and it also failed to crack passwords on Windows 7 Pro.

    Posted 11/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been trying to use this program for about a month now. I tried burning it to a cd and booting up my laptop. It doesnt register. It just loads windows. It takes a minute longer to load to log in screen but thats it. If i log in, it picks the cd up as "Ophcrack livecd". I then tried it on usb. Downloaded usbboot, copied/burned ophcrack to the 8gb usb(fat32). The system sees the usb as "ophcrack livecd". i restart, open boot menu, select the usb and still nothing. It loads windows. I have ophcrack v3.6.0. I am running Windows 7 ultimate. Why is it not working? Im so sure i have done everything 100%. Please help.

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am having a problem using this version 3.6.0. When I boot this live cd it does not load the tables. It only apply brute force attack. I have used version 3.4.0 before and checked passwords of windows 7 on three systems. 2 were found and on one PC this live cd didnot showed any passwords. Then I tried this latest version 3.6.0 but it is not loading any tables to find the password. So I need help about this problem. What I can do to load the tables? Need help !!!!

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    md5 hash don't match ? ophcrack-xp-livecd-3.6.0.iso Image Files (425 MB) 'ophcrack" md5 hash=md5sum: b23afa62f670dee41c8f01c436c0a092 - my crunch hash results=AA07109BB94430BE889933DBAD42390F

    Posted 10/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I got the LIVE disc and burned it to CDR. After one try with "automated," on Windows XP Professional, I clicked on the link to reveal the password. It said, "file not found." Fortunately, the program did show that the Administrator account had no password set at all, so I used the info to log in and reset my account's password. Everyone should know that I didn't spend ANY time on the issue and only read about 2% of what the program had to offer. I zipped on through and decided it would be much faster to use what I learned from OPHCRACK to choose the Administrator login route. <br><br>This program probably works. Thanks!

    Posted 09/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am trying to recover the admin PW on my windows 7 desktop. I successfully booted from a CD with the ISO on it, but it did not recover any passwords. It took me to an orange desktop and asked me to choose a partition, I tried both and neither recovered anything... did I do it wrong? Then I tried doing it w/ the install version but it asks for a hash. I don't understand how I am supposed to provide a hash for the password if I don't know what the password is.....

    Posted 08/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I burned the LiveCD to USB with Rufus, but my computer always says that the boot drive failed. I am trying to get into a Windows 8 machine.

    Posted 08/09/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks