OpenOrienteering Icon

Former project page

As of 2016-09-26, this project may now be found at http://www.openorienteering.org/apps/mapper/.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
12
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great mapping software! I'm a very recent convert to Mapper, using both Windows and Linux versions. After being away from orienteering for nearly 25 years, I found the software to be a major time-saver compared with how I remember producing maps in ancient times. The software is extremely easy to use, and to adapt for special requirements. The only problem I found (minor, easily solved, and which could be finger trouble) was templates becoming invisible after printing or exporting a map. However, templates could be made to reappear by exiting and re-starting the software.

    Posted 01/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using the Android version for my fieldwork since late 2014 : I changed to using a tablet when I started to have trouble with drafting film on complicated areas, where I need to rub out a lot. I use a Samsung Galaxy Note 2014 10.1 because of the thin S-Pen stylus, perfect for drawing ; the battery doesn't last all day, only about 5 hours, so I use a second tablet to get a full day. A Garmin GLO receiver works pretty well in the forest, for the price, though I've gone on to use a more expensive Ublox device. I've also tried OOM on an old Panasonic FZ A1 toughpad, you can find them for around 500 euros : they're rugged, they also have a really good thin stylus, but the hardware is a bit slow (loading and saving files). The software is great, just a few trivial bugs barely worth mentioning. Because it's free and runs on Android, you can take a chance and invest the time needed to change your working method. It doesn't especially speed up fieldworking, but drawing up the fieldwork in the evening is quite a bit quicker. A big thank you to all involved.

    Posted 09/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I draw with desktop version map for school competition without problems. As a long term OCAD user I can say that some functionality is even better in OO Mapper. At android version I am personally missing several functions to be more productive than when I am mapping on the desk, but still it is great tool for mapping. Thank you OOM team!

    Posted 05/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hi I'm from Indonesia I use it for a full mapping, is plagued with text translation is there available in Indonesian, thank you

    Posted 12/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Doing exactly what you need to make fine orienteering map!

    Posted 10/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, fast, feature-rich, and cross-platform free (libre) software - amazing!

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project. Easy to use and produces great results.

    Posted 06/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi I am from Brazil and I translate the OCAD Menus to portuguese. The strings pages of commands. Anyway I would like to translate Open Orienteering too, and put Portuguese into the files. What I have to do?

    Posted 04/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unlike OCAD this software runs beautifully on a Linux system. It is stable and while the interface is different that has many benefits and once learned is easy to use and fast. Large files (high resolution background images) are handled well and the control of display options is excellent. I use this for all my mapping now.

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for good program!

    Posted 06/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Now, with version 0.5.0, it is a replacement for OCAD 8. Similar features and better handling. Can be used productively. I drew a full map with it.

    Posted 04/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not quite a replacement for ocad yet, but its comming...

    Posted 01/27/2013

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks