MSYS2 Icon

A Cygwin-derived software distro for Windows using Arch Linux's Pacman

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
33
1
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use MSYS2 to build certain programs in Windows binaries. This is the best tool I use.

    Posted 06/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Tool.Thanks a lot :)

    Posted 05/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project! It provides us a excellent way to distribute x64 Qt Apps without visual C++ toolchains. However, there 're some tiny problem in Active-Qt 5.5.1, that g++ reported few groups of link time error 'undefined reference 'to __imp_* .

    Posted 12/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's like having a complete linux distro within Windows. great job!

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seems to be the best Unix-like toolchain for Windows.

    Posted 11/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This seems to be the project trying to do what the stale/dead mingw/mingw-get project once was.

    Posted 11/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A modern replacement for MSYS bringing recent versions of the GNU toolchains (MinGW-w32 und MinGW-w64), Git and other common Unix command line tools to the Windows platform.

    Posted 11/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MSYS2 gives me a reason to live now. It is almost as good as eating. Any time I need to use it or one of its packages, it works without a hitch. I have been using MSYS2 MinGW builds with NetBeans IDE and have no problems with them or the GNU make. I recently used the premake4 package to build an OpenGL tutorial source code. Long live MSYS2!!! :)

    Posted 10/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks very promising

    Posted 10/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its like a "little Linux" inside windows

    Posted 09/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really appreciated!

    Posted 07/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    finally a decent gnu tools on win32

    Posted 07/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a beautiful project. Thank you very much for the continued efforts.

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Thank you very much for you guys efforts.

    Posted 04/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exactly the type of software I was looking for. Many thanks to the developers.

    Posted 04/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project, really nice porting.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent environment for Mozilla Rust hacking on Windows ! Great job !

    Posted 02/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool

    Posted 12/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really nice project. Hope I can migrate all my workflows from MinGW32 here.

    Posted 12/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very good, I love pacman from Arch :)

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, the original MSYS was far from the *nix experience, but MSYS2 is very promising: development is active, a decent terminal emulator and, the best of all, pacman! (yeah, I'm an Archlinux user).

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A long needed refresh of the old and buggy MSYS. The inclusion of a tried and tested package manager finally provides what Windows MinGW-w64 users have been missing for ages. I hope this project can live long and provide people with a good shell and packaging environment for Windows MinGW-w64.

    Posted 07/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When you will discover Msys2, you will forget Cygwin

    Posted 07/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is just what was needed. Been trying to use msys/mingw for years and constantly fighting with little issues. I already knew pacman from my ArchLinux days (too many debian servers now ... or I'd still be using it!), and this just worked.

    Posted 07/08/2014
Show next 9 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks