Krut Computer Recorder Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
27
3
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks.

    Posted 03/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GPL licence? where is the source?

    Posted 03/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tested successfully on brief run under Windows 7 SP1 x64, but Capture Area hard to understand - why just one set of co-ordinates plus width/height and how to calculate latter instead of manually inputting x/y co-ordinates for each of top left and for bottom right? Setting capture area with mouse doesn't seem to work, at least with frame of video output of WinFF 15; mouse drag capture area interferes. docs.txt says how to disable graphics overlay to enable video recording from a media player but can't see how with ffmpeg etc for which WinFF is gui. Seems overall stable.

    Posted 01/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is nice, but it "forgot" where I left the windows, or the values that I always use to take my videos. So, I added a memory system that memorize the position of all its windows on the desktop, as well as the settings that were used the last time a recording was made (maybe... don't ask, I won't tell), as well as a resizing preview, for when the preview window (or screen) is smaller than the capture area. I'd like to send the code to the original writers, but the email jonasostby at sourceforge.net, that was listed in krut.sourceforge.net/ , doesn't seem to work. If someone wants to try it, contact me at spamholder.fake at gmail dot com .

    Posted 10/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic project. Source was pretty easy to compile. Works from the CLI. Doesn't crash or require install like every other recorder. Easy to mux or re-encode using ffmpeg. I definitely recommend this project.

    Posted 08/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's the only video screencast software I've found that doesn't crash my Ubuntu workstation.

    Posted 04/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i want to know that the krut supports solaris???

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program krut, thanks.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Found it very useful and very helpful. A great tool.

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, easy, awesome. Works great and doesn't even require installation.

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    krut works great

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, Very little size. Thanks, krut!

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    krut works nicely

    Posted 11/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    useful program, thanks

    Posted 10/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a pretty powerful recorder. There are some bugs - it seems like the file size grows really large really quickly, and so does the encoding time, but it's actually a pretty powerful, high-quality program. I really do hope that it continues to be developed - there's a massive shortage of cross-platform screen recorder programs.

    Posted 08/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this software. Thank you for your work.

    Posted 08/12/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very interesting project!

    Posted 07/12/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best (best framerate, sane output format, no watermarks. and free.) screen recorder I've found, but it still doesn't save it's settings.

    Posted 05/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing tool. Found it very useful and very helpful.

    Posted 03/31/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works perfectly.

    Posted 03/27/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excelent project, the best to see,

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pros: 1. Does what it says. Works like a charm. 2. Options available are really helpful: like audio sampling rate etc. 3. Extremely light weight: Uses very little CPU and HDD resources. 4. Remarkably fast for a Java program! Plus small memory footprint. 5. It is like they say, just sophisticated enough for my liking. YMMV. Cons: 1. I couldn't get to record D3D output, as in 3D game videos. But I never expected it to either, would have been just a bonus. Kudos to the developer 'jonasostby'! Thanks!

    Posted 10/26/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use Krut to record gaming videos. I haven't tried 3-D games yet, but it records 2-D games great! It even works on my hunk of junk computer!

    Posted 08/01/2011
Show next 7 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks