KeePass Google Sync Plugin Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
13
7
2
5
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very effective. This review is more on the whole set (KeyPass & the Sync plugin) coming from SplashID sync on my 3 devices. I have low current technical IT literacy (old & retired), so reading & applying documentation was a struggle. The goal was to move from 3 devices (laptop, desktop, Android) using SplashID to using an OpenSource & a Cloud master reference (Dropbox, Google Drive or OneDrive). SplashID subscription (24€/yr) seemed too expensive for me just for this. Also to invite wife & kids to do the same but with a good solution (personal & family). They would have had to pay also. So I determined my critical needs beyond the obvious, notably to be able to update & smartly sync, to export & import. Shopped around (took 1 hour on internet), build my selection table & opted for KeePass. I had to synchronise my 3 SplashID db (the sync had not been working well due to different setups (free version, old & new version)) and then exported the resulting SplashID db in CSV (200 records), cleaned up old stuff in Excel (in good US developers, SplashID does not support well letters with accents - I use mostly French - so the CSV export result was full of coded letters. A bit of data cleansing (eliminate delimiters in source fields). Selecting the more limited choice of fields in KeyPass (6 fields less than SplashID), thus concatenating these 6 fields into one, the Note field, lost time with the common ‘Last Modification Time’ field (not recognised at import), lost time with ‘Group’ field, not described in manual but recognised (=Type in SplashID), which was a good surprise, (same for the less important ‘Tags’ fields recognised (= Category in SplashID) but not described in Manual), opened Access to import the xls & exported with “ “ & comma as delimiters & UFT-8. So, some simple manipulations but not for the person not used to this. Imported the result in KeePass on PC as a breeze. Installed the plugin was very easy following instructions after managing to find out where to look for (time lost there, not in the install but just a bit surprised that I have to place the add-in in the Windows Program folder). It is said in manual that KeyPass can read directly SplashID csv files but I did not even try: in SplashID, the password can be in different fileds (columns) depending on the Type (in SplashID) or the Group in KeePass defined by the user, so you need manually to re-arrange, then the SplashID CSV has fields delimited with semi-columns & no “ around strings. No UFT-8 either. So, it is not straightforward. The links to the SplashID to KeyPass converter did not work (broken) for me, so ending up formatting with standard Access features. I could have written something in VBA but I would have had to learn to use it with Access (probably easy but time (I could have used VBA Excel also more familiar to me)). But I don’t develop / compile even simple things now. I would need to learn C or Python or something else… Note that I could have started with a fresh DB & input manually the records: a pain & a risk. What was harder was the Google Drive set up for this Plugin. If you know beforehand or if it was better described, it could be easier. The instructions seem written by clever people who know while I know little & not so clever, it was too slow for my impatient taste. Difficulties: 1. I had already copied the KeyPass db on Google Drive (web) in a special folder to have a starting point to sync. I put it in an organised place with special access rights (shared with close family). But then KeePass created another one and put it ‘anywhere’ in my root Google Drive directory. So, the default sharing access of my folder & my order was not respected. I guess this can be easily corrected but it is not straightforward at 1st setup time. The automatic creation was not expected. It is surely in the doc but not obvious. Time lost. 2. KeyPass has two menu option not clear at to what they do for the 1st timer (bld warnings would help): A. the Menu 'File / Synchronise' and B. 'Tools / Google Sync Plugin / Configuration'. I failed to see the 2nd menu choice initially. So, I tried the 1st route. Setting up an URL to access my own file gave me a 403 error (access denied). In my URL, the Google Drive ID of the file was correct (I discovered Google ways to index them by sending a link to share & testing this index) but the accessing method was wrong (FTP like). Only then did I find the Configuration option. I first used the OAut method following a manual. I got the 'client ID' & the 'Client secret', I got a UUID (I noticed laterKeyPass had generated one, so confusion - as I was discovering the UUID concept) but this method did not work for some weird reasons (error message). I unticked the OAut box and it worked directly (I had already a google account with URL set up in SplashID). If I had known that it was so simple, much easier than I thought & described in manual used. Two causes: I am not a developer so no access to Google API & services. Some doc refers to it which puts you on a wrong track. Manual seems obsolete (Google changed menus to separate the developers from the crowd?). Simple guidance tested with a few guinea pigs who have never set it up would have helped going faster. I then downloaded the app on my android, designating Google Drive as the target. The app found it fast, I added an entry in it to test, created another entry on the PC, closed & opened KeePass on PC and bingo! Fully synchronised (true synchronising not breaking down isn’t trivial, so a genuine relief). There is something truly magic when it works so quickly & so well. Seems simple but amazing work behind. It does exactly what I need critically & well. Very easy to use. Congratulations & Thanks!

    Posted 02/22/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works exactly as promised to keep my KeePass database synced between computers through Google Drive. Easy to set up. I received great support when I had a minor problem getting a second computer to sync (which was caused by my own mistake by the way).

    Posted 12/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not sure if it started with 3.0.0 or 3.0.1 but the plugin doesn't seem to update the database in GDrive when KeePass is closed. I have to open up KeePass again in order for the GDrive copy to be updated. Seems the plugin doesn't activate upon KeePass closing. I've had to go back to 2.1.2 which works perfectly. Upon closing of KeePass the database is updated in GDrive correctly.

    Posted 10/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Was really necessary to bring 3.0.1 I could not sync the db after I changed the password on the db which laied on my notebook. Now with 3.0.1 it works again!

    Posted 10/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love the plugin, but unfortunately it stopped working with the latest relase (3.0) I had to revert to the old version and now it is working again...

    Posted 10/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loved it: but Version 3 stopped working for me! The file on Google Drive stays untouched. Had to step back to version 2.1.2. 5* for the previous version!

    Posted 10/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fine!!, but I was not capable to sync througn a proxy.

    Posted 10/01/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This plugin makes syncing with Google Drive easy and transparent. After a quick and easy configuration you can just forget about it, and automatically sync all your changes across computers and mobile devices. With this plugin you can almost forget that KeePass is actually just a local app!

    Posted 09/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The included instructions are very poor and out of sync with Google. I'm still trying to get the darn thing installed. Rather than a text file with instructions a PDF with images should be included. It seems that the person that created the instructions is very knowledgeable but does not have the skill to create instructions for the average user. Because the instructions are so poor I cannot give the project a high rating.

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great. It's been helping me sync to google drive for a while now. Only problem I now experience is I started using Keepass2Android app which also allows a sync. The following problem occurs - I sync with kp-googlesync and it downloads, merges and uploads the file. Next, Keepass2Android syncs by downloading, merging and uploading. Then kp-googlesync downloads, merges, uploads etc.. It's a loop. Is there anyway to change the way this works? Maybe by collaborating with the android app maker? Nothing actually changes - the entries in the database are all the same but I presume it checks to see if the file has changed at all rather than if the entries have been changed. Thanks!

    Posted 04/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great, perfect for backing up data

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    IMHO, this handy little plugin works well and is easy to use...and I'm admittedly one of the dimmer bulbs in the knife drawer. I did have to dig a little bit to understand how to implement this (and other) plugins. Once the shovel & pick were stowed away again...operations were smooth and useful. Nice work, Dev ^_^

    Posted 12/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great. Took me a little while to figure out that the login info for Google had to be an entry inside the key-pass file itself, set up in the way described. Once understood, it actually makes a lot of sense to do it that way. Also, works without a problem.

    Posted 08/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ok, for a few: KeePass2 documentation (easily found in wiki) tells you to place plugins (.plgx) in the keepass2 installation directory (where keepass.exe is). Just go to the keepass2 website, and pick Help on the left, then under Keepass 2.x, click Plugins. As far as "what entry to use", it's simple: If you don't have one, create a new entry in your keepass database called whatever (mine is Google Accounts), and your google username and password, and for the URL put (without the hashtags): h#t#t#p#s://accounts.google.com That is the entry he's talking about. Save the database, now when you go to configure this plugin, the drop-down menu will show the google account, you pick that one. Anyway... review wise, this thing works perfectly, and saves me having to always remember which one (laptop, desktop, work laptop, work PC, phone, tablet, etc.) is the latest to 'copy' (PITA). Thanks for the excellent work!

    Posted 07/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This plugin makes KeePass the perfect tool for managing passwords across multiple devices. I use it alongside Keepass2Android and I couldn't be happier! Thanks so much for making this!

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The directions are self explanatory is you understand the settings for Keepass. The only thing that could be clearer and it is an understanding of Keepass is that the plugin folder is the folder where keepass.exe is. Set up was straight forward and it is working like advertised. The fact that it also works with Keepass2Android was a big plus.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't open the zip-file. If I try to open I get the message: "The folder can not be opened. The zip-compressed folder ...\..\GoogleSyncPlugin-2.1.0.zip is invalid." Any idea what's wrong?

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I never could get it to work, the configuration instructions made no sense to me.

    Posted 04/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installation instructions are gibberish: Place the "GoogleSyncPlugin.plgx" file into the "plugins" folder of your KeePass installation. My Keepass installation did not create a "plugins" folder. I made one in the exe path opf Keepass, placed the plugin file into it. Did not work. * Open a KeePass database. * Make sure you have a password entry for your Google Account. You may leave the password field blank if you wish. If that entry has the URL "accounts.google.com" associated, you can skip the next step. * Go to the "Properties" tab of that entry and copy the UUID at the bottom. The "Properties" tab of what entry? Where?

    Posted 04/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fix work with proxy please. It don't work.

    Posted 12/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pretty easy to sync your passwords between your mobile devices and your PCs. Also take a look at Keepass2Android if you use an Android device. The developers are extremely helpful and open to suggestions in the forum.

    Posted 12/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 2 has improved in terms of ease of use, features, stability and security. It is more suitable to use in portable mode now. It comes with an easy to use configuration dialogue. There is no more need to manually locate and edit configuration files. It still needs you to create your own Google Project though, but instructions to do so are included and straight forward. The database can be moved inside any folder on the Google Drive after initial upload as long as the file name does not change. It does have a minor problem when using AutoSync with different databases that not all have to be synchronized. You have to dismiss the popping up configuration dialogue when saving for databases that you do not want to be synced or disable AutoSync and only sync manually. Because of the used Google libraries you need the full .NET Framework 4.0 or later installed, not just the Client Profile.

    Posted 11/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    issues not maintained, documentation on how to update new version is not available

    Posted 05/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice start. Needs a little polish to make it user friendly and it could be great addition to the plugins for KeePass.

    Posted 04/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First, thank you to the author for making this plugin available. It works well. and deserves a 4 rating, but It is very difficult to set up and the documentation really poor. Kaa-ching's blog post on blogger (/2012/12/improved-manual-for-keepass-google-sync.html) is a great improvement. Perhaps the author of this plugin should provide a link to kaa-ching's blog post. Note: I am running KeePass on Windows 8.1.

    Posted 01/10/2014
Show next 7 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks