JPEGView - Image Viewer and Editor Icon

Lean and fast image viewer with minimal GUI

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
105
6
2
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very fast viewer with basic features like "Crop", "Resize" and "Rotate" (also lossless for JPEGs). Perfect for people like me, who don't need a big GUI or toolbar to open images. It is just incredible fast, even on slow systems.

    Posted 11/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is everything I would want from a image viewer. It's simple, minimal and has a good feature set. The only two problems I have is the nav bar, I personally disabled it. I found it took too long to hide, and all its functions could be performed through the right click menu. Some bitmap images don't render correctly, A few that I took with a mod in GTA San Andreas, render with discolouration all over the image.

    Posted 09/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything I ever wanted from an image viewer so far.

    Posted 08/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Firstly, excellent program. It's my default viewer. Secondly, I'd like to echo the request below for "always on top." I was quite surprised to find that it wasn't present when I needed it.

    Posted 07/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's my favorite image viewer by far. Even as a recent linux user (I could leave Wind*ws behind at last!) I keep using it. It's simply unbeatable! Thx so much!

    Posted 07/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your outstanding work, This app is very excellent. but, Can you add some more feature? 1. I like "always on top", I always work with an image as a reference. 2. I hope I can click and drag to move it, not select a region for now. 3. Last, I hope I can double click middle button to close it.

    Posted 07/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb little piece of software. I cannot stand Windows 7 image viewer with it's horrible clunky borders, I just want a basic frame to see my pictures in with no superfluous distractions. This software does it just lovely, nice and simple design.

    Posted 06/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome. I was looking for a tool that would just let me view images. Nothing more. Looks like Windows 10 Photos can't do it (no full screen except for slide show, and broken navigation). This one can. And even more than that, it doesn't get in my way when I view my photos, which is far more than I'd expect. Lacks image browser, but do we need it when every decent file manager can act as one?

    Posted 05/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best of the best, faster image viewer for windows.

    Posted 04/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and useful

    Posted 04/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is just the one I've been looking for.

    Posted 04/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic simple tool, perfect for viewing and small corections (rotate, crop, color adjustement, change perspective) as well as excellent resampling of bloated JPEG files. I would love: a command to batch-resample JPEG files from command line or GUI

    Posted 02/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use, intuitive image editing software.

    Posted 02/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect non-intrusive viewer. No installation - just unpack and go. Maybe for very-very beginners it is too challenging to find the .exe but anyone who can navigate and extract files will not have a problem with this. And a damn site faster and simply fewer clicks than the windows8.x default image viewer. I quite like windows8.x but often I wonder whether Microsoft has major shares in mice cos it really needs more mouse clicks to do things than in windowsXP.

    Posted 12/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While JPEGView bills itself as an image viewer, and it does that impressively well, I have found it quite useful for other tasks. It's great for tweaking the luminosity of my photographs, particularly in brightening shadows and darkening highlights. Of course, other software do that too but JPEGView 1.0.33 offers the greatest ease and flexibility. Particularly nice is seeing the histogram dynamically change as one moves the various sliders.

    Posted 08/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best image viewer for Windows

    Posted 08/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome! Fastest editor I've ever seen. Great for large images. Extremely fast rotation of images. Immediately reflects changes made outside of the editor. At first I thought that it can't change contrast and brightness, but it can - you have to hover with the mouse over the bottom of the image. F1 is useful as well. Thank you!

    Posted 06/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely sublime software. This is everything I could want in a simple minimal image view/editor.

    Posted 04/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use software yet powerful and fast. I like the minimal GUI that lets you watch the image without any annoying bars, menus, etc... . The developer did - and does - a great job.

    Posted 03/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am a software developper and write my own photo software. I was was using a Microsoft iPicture utility to display jpg photos, however that viewer was never as good as Photoshop or ACDSee's integrated viewers, so I have always been looking for a better viewer that I could integrate into my own code. JPEGView is just what I needed - it's very fast and displays better image quality than Photoshop, which was my reference until now. When you take 6000x4000 pixel photos with a Sony RX1 camera and have to display them on a monitor with 2560x1200 or less resolution you have a problem - you never see the great sharp image you took - until now! The image quality of JPEGView is better than anything I have seen. I can get the source code and integrate it into my work so for me so it's just perfect.

    Posted 02/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think I just fell in love with this. It's beautiful, fast and reliable and it has many built-in things that I like really much like settings for contrast and brightness etc. After messing with the settings I can hit CTRL + S and save the processed picture wherever I like. This comes very handy when you have to do just a couple of cosmetic changes to your picture.

    Posted 12/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice work! Joins image quality and performance. It would be perfect if it had an OpenGL engine.

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    JPEGView is a must have program ever made. But I got a problem - when I delete image with this the image not gos to recycle bin !! It's delete forever. :( Is there any setting that can fix this problem?

    Posted 12/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great tool! Searched for something that could be customized (e.g. resize and save to current zoom-view). Has now replaced irfanview (one of my few propritary tools) for my most common tasks! Thx a lot :)

    Posted 11/26/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks