JPEGView - Image Viewer and Editor Icon

Lean and fast image viewer with minimal GUI

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
108
6
2
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Firstly, excellent program. It's my default viewer. Secondly, I'd like to echo the request below for "always on top." I was quite surprised to find that it wasn't present when I needed it.

    Posted 07/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's my favorite image viewer by far. Even as a recent linux user (I could leave Wind*ws behind at last!) I keep using it. It's simply unbeatable! Thx so much!

    Posted 07/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your outstanding work, This app is very excellent. but, Can you add some more feature? 1. I like "always on top", I always work with an image as a reference. 2. I hope I can click and drag to move it, not select a region for now. 3. Last, I hope I can double click middle button to close it.

    Posted 07/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb little piece of software. I cannot stand Windows 7 image viewer with it's horrible clunky borders, I just want a basic frame to see my pictures in with no superfluous distractions. This software does it just lovely, nice and simple design.

    Posted 06/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classroom program, but it is lacking in the installation file extensions and associations.

    Posted 06/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please, can anyone tell me how to take a snapshot during image view? Thank you

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome. I was looking for a tool that would just let me view images. Nothing more. Looks like Windows 10 Photos can't do it (no full screen except for slide show, and broken navigation). This one can. And even more than that, it doesn't get in my way when I view my photos, which is far more than I'd expect. Lacks image browser, but do we need it when every decent file manager can act as one?

    Posted 05/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really like this bare bone tool. I wish the batch (rename / duplicate file finder) and folder view options were more broad (like in acdsee). Also if slideshow function would handle network paths (like home server folder on own network + if it could handle subfolders. I'd fully convert to using this in a heartbeat!

    Posted 04/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best of the best, faster image viewer for windows.

    Posted 04/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and useful

    Posted 04/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is just the one I've been looking for.

    Posted 04/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic simple tool, perfect for viewing and small corections (rotate, crop, color adjustement, change perspective) as well as excellent resampling of bloated JPEG files. I would love: a command to batch-resample JPEG files from command line or GUI

    Posted 02/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use, intuitive image editing software.

    Posted 02/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect non-intrusive viewer. No installation - just unpack and go. Maybe for very-very beginners it is too challenging to find the .exe but anyone who can navigate and extract files will not have a problem with this. And a damn site faster and simply fewer clicks than the windows8.x default image viewer. I quite like windows8.x but often I wonder whether Microsoft has major shares in mice cos it really needs more mouse clicks to do things than in windowsXP.

    Posted 12/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While JPEGView bills itself as an image viewer, and it does that impressively well, I have found it quite useful for other tasks. It's great for tweaking the luminosity of my photographs, particularly in brightening shadows and darkening highlights. Of course, other software do that too but JPEGView 1.0.33 offers the greatest ease and flexibility. Particularly nice is seeing the histogram dynamically change as one moves the various sliders.

    Posted 08/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best image viewer for Windows

    Posted 08/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome! Fastest editor I've ever seen. Great for large images. Extremely fast rotation of images. Immediately reflects changes made outside of the editor. At first I thought that it can't change contrast and brightness, but it can - you have to hover with the mouse over the bottom of the image. F1 is useful as well. Thank you!

    Posted 06/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely sublime software. This is everything I could want in a simple minimal image view/editor.

    Posted 04/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use software yet powerful and fast. I like the minimal GUI that lets you watch the image without any annoying bars, menus, etc... . The developer did - and does - a great job.

    Posted 03/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    RED EYE REMOVAL... WHY IS IT NOT INCLUDED IN THE EDITING ?? otherwise.. it is the best picture handler i have come accross Also I agree with petecres..slideshow should have slower option than 5 fps option.. why not start from 1 fps... or enter a number of your choice option for fps slideshow ??

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am a software developper and write my own photo software. I was was using a Microsoft iPicture utility to display jpg photos, however that viewer was never as good as Photoshop or ACDSee's integrated viewers, so I have always been looking for a better viewer that I could integrate into my own code. JPEGView is just what I needed - it's very fast and displays better image quality than Photoshop, which was my reference until now. When you take 6000x4000 pixel photos with a Sony RX1 camera and have to display them on a monitor with 2560x1200 or less resolution you have a problem - you never see the great sharp image you took - until now! The image quality of JPEGView is better than anything I have seen. I can get the source code and integrate it into my work so for me so it's just perfect.

    Posted 02/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lean and mean.... Does one thing and does it well.....and without the memory problems of some other apps when ripping through many, many files continuously...... Just two items on my personal wish list: a time setting for continuous display via holding PageDn. ..... When reviewing a couple thousand security cam alert .JPEGs, 5 FPS movie mode is too fast and 1 second between pictures in slide show mode is too slow. ..... That leaves holding the PageDn key, but that's also too fast...... Settings | PageDn Speed (in hundredths or thousandths of a second) would make this app five stars for me. I would probably set it to something like a half or quarter of a second...... The second wish list item is an optional notification and stop when the last image is being viewed - instead of looping around and starting over. Yeah... small potatoes.... but definately a nice-to-have...... the biggie is the time-between-pictures setting for PageDn.

    Posted 12/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think I just fell in love with this. It's beautiful, fast and reliable and it has many built-in things that I like really much like settings for contrast and brightness etc. After messing with the settings I can hit CTRL + S and save the processed picture wherever I like. This comes very handy when you have to do just a couple of cosmetic changes to your picture.

    Posted 12/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice work! Joins image quality and performance. It would be perfect if it had an OpenGL engine.

    Posted 12/18/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks