HP Linux Imaging and Printing Icon

Hewlett-Packard's Linux imaging and printing software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
30
1
1
1
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can you kindly tell me how to install this on Linux Mint Rebecca. I only get error messages telling me it's not possible to run this sort of file. One of them is only text and I have no clue what to do with it.

    Posted 10/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Normale Nutzung ist OK Linux Mint 17.3

    Posted 07/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do the jobs... Ubuntu since 13.04 without problems

    Posted 06/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm running Kubuntu 14.04 and it's a fresh install, I have 3.15.9 installed and tried the automatic install of 3.15 11 and it failed so I tried a manual install, that failed too. I was told I need to install 'libtool', so I did. I tried to install 3.15.11 again, manually this time and it STILL told me 'libtool' was NOT installed. So, I gave up and I'm staying at 3.15.9. I will try a reboot later and see if that changes things...

    Posted 01/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is a problem with HPLIP working on Ubuntu 15.10. If you need to install HP Plugins for your printer the programm runs into an endless loop. The problem occurs independant from the HPLIP Version. Checked with version 3.15.7 from the Ubuntu Repo's and a fresh installed version 3.15.11. It seems to be a problem with switching into the sudo-environment, because the program prevents from being executed as root. The problem does not occure on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS and HPLIP 3.14.3, where the programm needs to be executed as root.

    Posted 12/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi Team! I couldn't find a way to reach you. So I thought I'll mention it here. I use ElementaryOS and was installing hplip from the instructions at hplipopensource dot com/hplip-web/install/manual/distros/ubuntu.html While installing the dependencies, I had to install python-dev as well. That is not mentioned within the dependencies heading. Needless to say, great piece of software!

    Posted 11/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fedora Core 23 XFCE x64 - hp-plugin hangs in GUI and interactive mode after: "Do you accept the license terms..." step. On Fedora Core 22 was the same:(

    Posted 11/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hi, i would say that installation in debian wheezy 7.8 (i use raspi 2) goes wrong, when you are be asking for the password and you digit it, there is an error and it says password wrong, i try using sudo but at the end it cant download the plugin, i give 2 stars cause in lubuntu the installation goes ok, but in debian no, thats all, sorry for my bad english and i think you ll fix this problem

    Posted 08/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this product for Ubuntu... prints all those fonts.labs.coop -- so clean and bold and direct ;-)

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I bought my HP n125nw printer because I wanted a reliable device usable under linux. My expectations were met thanks to this software.

    Posted 02/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent in every aspect ! thank you

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Which version of HPILP is match with SUSE Linux 10.3 ?

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works with Black Lab Linux 5 and 6 Alpha

    Posted 06/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i'ḿ using openSUSE 13.1 and my hp deskjet d2660 finally prints! Thank you hplip! (it was printing blank pages because tri-color cartridge was empty. Solution: hp-setup/ print settings/ General: Installed Cartridges: Black only). (i'm a linux-beginner, it took me 3 days)

    Posted 02/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Kali 3.7-trunk-amd64 kernel, shared as a Debian print server for Color Laserjet 1600 (USB) in Server 2012 Domain. wiki.debian.org/SystemPrinting#HP setup was effortless, though I would add to "Next setup your /etc/cups/cupsd.conf file" by pasting the lines in the example to the cupsd.conf file below the 'localhost:631' block near the top.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I did an update to Ubuntu 13.10 and discovered simple scan no longer worked. I guessed that one of my drivers was bad so I went into synaptic and ereased anything connected to HP. Then with your software I found my M1212nf MFP, downloaded the software and ran it. It took a fair while to go through its thing, but in the end everything worked. You guys did an excellent job. Thanks,

    Posted 10/27/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It updates too often messing with all your settings and leaving you with phantom printers. If it is printing fine for me, then I need to be left alone and not pestered with you-have-to-click-me popups telling me that there is an update over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over. This overrides the quality of the driver itself.

    Posted 10/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Hplip, it's great!

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hplip works fine.

    Posted 06/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The script looks for python-devel. Unfortunately, Ubuntu provides python-dev instead. If you install python-dev first, it should work fine. There should be a way to install one or the other according to the availability. If this is not possible, a warning for Ubuntu and other deb based distributions might be recommended. Unfortunately, uname only spits out "Linux" on Ubuntu distributions.

    Posted 04/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks a million for this HP! Works great, on a Officejet 6600 wireless. Love the automatic installer.

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love that its free

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    easy and simple to use.

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it! 10x!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/05/2012
Show next 18 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks