GenealogyJ Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
10
0
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Probably the best gen. program here around for linux.

    Posted 12/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just what I was looking for!

    Posted 07/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Genj, it's the best!

    Posted 05/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    easy and simple to use.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great project! The UI may be overwhelmingly complex at first, but designing a UI to deal with such a complex matter is not trivial. Take your time and learn it.

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't have complains about this software! I like it!

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GenealogyJ is a totally free program, but has extremely limited use. It does not allow flexible relationships in families, is poorly designed, and awkward. It does make a lots of graphs and even a complete website, but not very impressive ones. I rate it only 4 out of 10 stars … but I give it 2 of those stars just because it is free complete genealogy program.

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like GenJ because there is nothing you can't do with it, as long as you're willing to dig through the (admittedly complex) UI options. Very powerful, flexible and adheres strictly to the GEDCOM standard so compatibility is excellent. I have trusted this program with my family's history for more than 5 years. The only downside is the lack of a polished, user-friendly UI. I also disagree with those that claim this program is unable to track unions other than traditional marriage (such as civil unions and same-sex marriages). I've never had an issue with these subjects.

    Posted 05/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Program that suits the average and advanced genealogist with many different features. Adheres to the GEDCOM standard very strictly.

    Posted 05/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the worst UIs I have ever encountered. Poorly thought out, exceedingly difficult to do the simplest tasks. Uninstalled and moved on to better software.

    Posted 09/24/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks