FART Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
12
1
1
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fastest replacer i found yet! tested faster than repl.bat, jrepl.bat, findrepl.bat, and sfk.ext. anybody know how to handle newline char? > set newline=^& echo. > fart myfile.csv %newline% “,” myfile.csv Found 1 file(s). “,” Any idea of the correct way to do this? thx!

    Posted 09/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice utility all-in-all. I just can't make it to replace "\" by "/" in a file containing a windows path. fart.exe temp.txt "\" "/" fart.exe temp.txt "\\" "/" Nothing works, all help appreciated!!!

    Posted 07/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Overall, I like it and use on a daily basis.

    Posted 09/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It might sound as a stupid solution, but if you are using the -b flag, you have to create the bak file first (add one copy command in your script). The "detected as binary" problem is also in other encodings, so you have to use the -b flag all times :-) However the good side of this app is teh fact, it is very fast even on big files.

    Posted 07/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    unable to modify files with a "," in the filename from outside the directory of the file being modified.

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool. Unfortunately not as useful to me as it could be because I want to change text in files managed by Visual Studio and TFS and TFS sets the readonly bit. This means I have to use attrib before and after. But very handy for turning code contract checking on and off in a hundred or so projects nonetheless.

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great on csv. Command line batch file cleans up multiple large csv files effortlessly. Nicely done. Hint: use the -c count option to test before replacing.

    Posted 03/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hmm.. how do you replace two consecutive blank lines, like this doesn't work: fart test.txt "\n\n" "\n" .. ??

    Posted 02/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    tool detects file in utf as binary

    Posted 10/12/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The only standalone utility I found which can do replace in files on Windows cmd.exe, great work!

    Posted 07/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    At last I've managed to get some meaningfull results from it. Some text files were successfully parsed, but some system windows xp configuration files - weren't. From the program's point, they were binary, for some reason. But when I'd tried it with -b key, it requested use --bakcup too, and this key is buggy - just continued throw out error again and again like "Error: could not remove: E:\temp\CONFIG.NT.bak" Of course, there wasn't such a file in this dir. Such a crappy piece of software.

    Posted 06/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was struggling with fancy batch scripts that use crazy insane syntax. I didn't want to have to include any additional software for the script, but fart is tiny and doesn't require any kind of installation. Now if we could only push to have it incorporated into the windows shell.

    Posted 04/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some problems: 1. tool detects file in utf as binary. 2. On Win7 when i use -b option, it doesn't work file1 Error: could not remove: file1.bak file2 Error: could not remove: file2.bak

    Posted 02/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great! I just made 2100 string replacements in 53 files from a single Windows command line.

    Posted 12/28/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great tool!

    Posted 08/01/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This works great and its very simple. I have used SED for find and replace on Win2K and needed the same functionality on 64-bit Windows. This utility does it perfectly.

    Posted 11/26/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    yup worked for me!

    Posted 10/08/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks