Ext2 File System Driver for Windows Icon

A Linux ext2/ext3 file system driver for Windows

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
78
2
3
0
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not work for UEFI Partions OS 64 bits

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Good, thanks

    Posted 11/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not work on Windows 7 x64. When trying to Change the settings of the Linux partition to assign a drive letter and mount it, it says the service is not started, although it is, and nothing happens. After a reboot, the drive letter is assigned, but with a question mark and still not accessible.. Have uninstalled this stante pede.

    Posted 11/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After installing, program dit not respond but used a lot of system resources, failed to read any ext partition. Rebooted twice, same problems. After uninstalling, computer would not shut down (no problems before). Switched it off manually. Rebooted, performed a system restore: computer crashed; this program is like a virus. Had to do a full system repair to get my computer booting again. Total fail. Beware!

    Posted 11/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    essential tool for bridging windows and linux ext file systems

    Posted 09/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashy crashy crashcrash. Installed the driver, plugged in a ext2 file system device, and tadaa, system dead. Reboot. I'll let the event log speak: "The device G:\ (location (unknown)) is offline due to a user-mode driver crash. Windows will attempt to restart the device 5 more times. Please contact the device manufacturer for more information about this problem." It's a 32 bit driver too - very up to date, you see. Now to the rating: Ease: Good = Easily crash your system. Features: 1 = There is a single feature, it crashes your system. Design: Poor = No error message is displayed. Your system just freezes. Support: Poor = No help anywhere, just an uninstall program. Which also freezes until I reboot the system.

    Posted 08/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The ext2fsd's window will not show up on Windows 10, so it's impossible to use this program. I opened the issue for this problem.

    Posted 07/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is what I want! Smooth and Simple! Loved it :D

    Posted 05/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works as intended. very smooth and very easy to use and does the job seamless in the background

    Posted 04/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent piece of software. V0.66 perfect.

    Posted 04/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best solution for using your ext drives in Windows. The latest release works perfectly Windows 10.

    Posted 03/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The splash after initial startup hung around for a while and I worried that it was failing based on some other comments but I just had to wait. I like the improvements that have been made on this program since I last used it: automatic startup and mounting settings within the program itself make it more convenient-feeling for me. Good job devs :) Thank you very much.

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seems to work. However, I didn't test it very well, yet.

    Posted 12/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please note that the splash remains on screen, at least under win10, and makes Ext2File useless on 10 inch screen that several new note books offer. I cannot rate the application because I was unable to use it on an hp 2 in 1 with 10.1 screen.

    Posted 10/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfect on Windows 10 :)

    Posted 10/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not work in Windows 10 .

    Posted 10/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best Ext2-4 driver for Windows

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool. A bit slow on 1st startup, but then it's amazing. Thank you very much, developer.

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had a 2TB Western Digital NAS drive that just wouldn't work on the network. I took out the hard drive and accessed it on my Windows 8.1 machine using Ext2Fsd. I was able to copy 200GB of data from an EXT4 partition off the drive onto my PC hard drive in about 15 minutes. For sanity, I did a comparison afterwards and everything was there.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had a 2TB Western Digital NAS drive that just wouldn't work on the network. I took out the hard drive and accessed it on my Windows 8.1 machine using Ext2Fsd. I was able to copy 200GB of data from an EXT4 partition off the drive onto my PC hard drive in about 15 minutes.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!!!

    Posted 04/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used this to recover data off of an external hard-drive running Linux as a base operating system. When the mother board died, removed the hard-drive, installed in my computer and installed this software. Worked flawlessly, currently copying all the data off the drive onto my other drive. Thanks.

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On Windows 7 64 bit with 1 SSD, 2 SATA drives and USB3 it quietly worked incorrectly. I connected 2 2TB drives (both formatted as Ext3, one empty) using USB3 enclosures, then copied the entire contents of one drive to the other. The "from" drive had 893GB free and the "to" drive started out with 1810GB free. After the copy completed the "to" drive had 1810GB free but less than half the directories existed. I've no idea where the data went to. Sorry but as far as I'm concerned this software is worthless. I'm not prepared to waste more time on it by providing debug info. I achieved my copy by booting up a SystemRescueCd containing Linux and copying the data using that.

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great savior tool!

    Posted 11/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good

    Posted 09/24/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks