elementary OS Icon

A fast and open replacement for Windows and OS X

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
44
5
2
3
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • biztastic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I heard it's good so I can't rate too bad, but there's no EFI support. I download the disc image and mount it so I can copy it to a USB and boot on my UEFI pc but there's no EFI folder. my PC does not have legacy mode. There's no email to write to for support, I almost bought this on the website but so far glad I didn't because it wouldn't even had worked anyway. Not trying to be a negative nancy but just expressing my experience. If they add EFI support for my pc I'll gladly give it a more fair rating and support.

    Posted 12/02/2015
  • wilfredor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing Desktop Enviroment

    Posted 08/31/2015
  • wiretapper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keep reading. This is one of the best! Fast, clean and efficient. It's got everything but Chrome. Get package.

    Posted 07/22/2015
  • coolmer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best distro atm

    Posted 06/05/2015
  • mariusshh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cel mai frumos distro

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • n1kky
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a nice and snappy OS for designers like me who are kinda low on budget but benefit the most from clean and simple layout. I personally prefer Firefox, Chrome but purely for testing websites. Though I would like to see elements from Tweak as default in settings (like intelligent auto hide dock etc..). With an install of Virtualbox running modernIE (for testing IE9 crap, IE10 and IE11), Photoshop themed Gimp, Inkscape and LAMP package I can finally say goodbye to the other "popular" OS'es. I'm free!!! :)

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • veggiessss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I rarely write a review but this time I really HAVE to. What kind of people do a distro with a good design but a freaking ugly layout? WHEN I FIRST LOGGED INTO THAT THING THE MIDORI BROWSER DIDN'T WORKED. THE FREAKING MENU AT THE LEFT IS SOME SORT OF THING WE CAN«T USE PROPERLY. WHEN I AM WRITING A DOCUMENT SOMETHING HAPPENS AND IT VANISHES. WHAT THE HECK IS THAT? YOU PEOPLE NEED TO HAVE A DECENT CLASSICAL MENU THAT WE THE USERS WANT AND NOT WHAT YOU DEVELOPERS THINK WE WANT. THESE DUDES WHO COME HERE TO WRITE WITH 5 STARS BLA BLA BLA MUST BE GEEKS CAUSE I DON'T SEE HOW A NORMAL GUY CAN WORK WITH A DISTRO LIKES THIS. FIX YOUR BUGS AND PUT A DECENT LAYOUT OF THINGS. AND ALSO MAKE IT WITH SOFTWARE THAT WE RECOGNIZE AND DOESN'T FAIL!!!. THAT THING MIDORI BROWSER IS PURE JUNK!!!! THIS IS MY REVIEW. NOW GO FIX YOUR THINGS AND MAKE ELEMETARY OS FUNCTIONAL. MAYBE THEN YOU CAN MAKE IT TO THE 1ST PLACE OF DISTROWATCH....

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • jee-hyun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quite Pretty but wastes too many vertical space. Wing panel + window bar + menu bar + plank.... Plank can be moved to right or left side. It's good. But still too narrow in 16:9 stupid latops. Wing panel must have auto hide feature! Or they must develop something like super wing application for luna.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • blitze2998789
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Echt tolle Sache! Weiter so!

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • bitelse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Elegant, light and simply fresh.

    Posted 02/03/2015
  • byteknight
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well XP is gone but here comes eOS! I am an Old time Windows guy - and this stupid internet thing took off thanks to Unix and Linux OS - and after trying different Distros nothing has come close to eOS for just design and ease of use. Please understand that I still hit some issues (Printers) however I was able to find the help with eOS when Ubuntu (I know eOS is based on it) wasn't doing the job. I will not take the time to understand Linux better when I have an interface like eOS! Please get it and Donate!

    Posted 01/05/2015
  • hellangel7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really a good OS - Really easy on the eyes as well >>=----------> A reminder amd64 is nothing more than 64 version and will work on intel 64 processor.

    Posted 12/07/2014
  • agarten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Einfach und gut

    Posted 12/06/2014
  • xaroquan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like everything about it... except my mouse is glitchy and for some reason it makes my computer heat up much faster than any other distro I've ever used.

    Posted 12/03/2014
  • xsqwigglex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, stylish and very easy to use as well as highly customizable! The only downside being that Luna's kernel doesn't support newer hardware but that should be fixed with Freya along with touch + EFI support! Definitely worth installing if you're a OSX lover who can't afford a Mac / need a smooth transfer from Windows or you just love Linux.

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • tutul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just perfect :)

    Posted 06/29/2014
  • mathpfvr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A pity that the ISO was not updated to the latest version. The system is lightweight, fast, meets all needs. It is simple to use, a pity that Linux is not famous. I installed the iso Elementary in every PC formatted and everyone liked

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • radutrifiniuc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks ELEMENTARY, is more fast than Ubuntu it self, and i love Mac OS X design on it.

    Posted 04/18/2014
  • myke4416
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The stable on a Dell E5500 is great! I have ran the unstable and had some freeze-up with a Lenovo T400. I am moving it to the stable version and see if there is a problem. I have used Linux for a number of years, but am by far no expert! All I can tell you is this is simple, clean and fast on an old Dell E5500 and everyone in the Church office likes it ...BTW using LibreOffice and Chrome ....WORKS GREAT! If you are looking to replace XP for a bunch of Windows users --- this would be the one!

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • godfree2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thin & sluggish like VISTA. April 2014 I installed on an HP notebook and it is slow & thin and will drive users of faster tuxes nuts. Don't see an audience for the distro, except for a MAC user. sorry. Voting low to counter spam votes

    Posted 04/07/2014
  • exton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Elementary OS is a (simple) remaster of Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise Pangolin). Shouldn't that be mentioned on the Summary page?

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • michg9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great distro. Really fast and easy to use. Only thing wrong it really needs a minimize button by default (I know elementary tweaks can get it back but it dosen't come with it)

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • ahmedshiko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good eOS

    Posted 02/08/2014
  • aycloutier
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    That is far one of the best Linux distribution that I have used. I am a Linux expert (more than 5 years of use) and I really do enjoy this distribution. Based on Ubuntu, it has the easy of use side of it (I still love Debian/FreeBSD and to tweek my stuff, but I do not have time anymore for that). The GUI is perfect! I do not like Gnome3/KDE4/Unity and was using Mate while waiting to find-out something better and I just found it! The only bad was the attempt to use the Full Disk encryption, not included in the stable version of the installer (tryed the beta who include it), but the gui was not lauching yet, so I worked this around by installing Ubuntu from an alternative CD and after installing Elementary from the PPA. Appart that, success! I love it for it's interface and the fonts that played well right out of the box. Great work guys!

    Posted 01/24/2014
  • giordi63
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    lo consiglio a tutti molto meglio di ubuntu più veloce leggero e molto bello come grafica

    Posted 12/01/2013
Show next 25 reviews