EditArea Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
22
2
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an awesome, FREE, functioning source editor. It is ALL client side JavaScript. Much easier and more universal to implement this than most any other similar controls out there. It was a pain though to figure out how to get the source version running, and this thing was all screwed up in IE9 & IE10 at first. I've provided a solution to both of these issues for you though! They won't allow me to post a URL here, so to find my solutions search for ticket #65, or in a number of responses I posted in the discussion forum regarding source code, IE9, or IE10. Since this is an open source freebie, and the posts are barely trickling in for this now, I felt compelled to help out... I wish someone had done this for me. Well, actually patch #56 did provide the heavy lifting for the IE9+ patches to begin with...

    Posted 11/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good editor! I've been using it for a couple of years. I would, however, like to be able to configure the tab size (I usually use 2 chars) and also to configure the cursor to, for eg., a block. The very thin and dim line currently being used is sometimes hard to see, forcing one to use your mouse to re-establish the current cursor position in your text.

    Posted 10/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good app though it needs to run in compatibility view in IE 10 to avoid the shadows. This slows it down a bit. Also would like to see the Tabs set to 4 characters instead of 8, or have them user configurable.

    Posted 09/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Creates trouble in IE 10. It creates text shadows in IE10. Cursor randomely shakes in IE 10. Also when I try to display an edited string (from java) to the client on editarea js it some times created unusual strings like "µ__functions__µ" or "µ_END_µ"

    Posted 09/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Editarea, it's wonderful!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good. I used it for my app BugTracker.NET

    Posted 06/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice js component. Appears reliable, supports many things out of the box, and is easy to integrate, non intrusive, easy to extend. Congratulations for your work.

    Posted 03/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cdolivet; works great. Lonestep: make empty textarea in a form, let save_callback write content into this textarea and submit the form and your PHP script can Request the content(so you have to write a bit of javascript). Mail me if you don't know how.

    Posted 03/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cdolivet, it's really awesome! but the question is how to deliver the file content to PHP(so that PHP script can handle READ/WRITE back to server)?

    Posted 11/27/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi. Great job. I made an Yii extension based on EditArea. Here is extension: http://www.yiiframework.com/extension/fileeditor/ or a live demo at http://fileeditor.binary-technology.ro/.

    Posted 10/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using it at my online MSP430 compiler at www.inventortown.com. It works great! Thanks.

    Posted 08/08/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good! I use it in liveworkspace.org/ online compiler.

    Posted 12/26/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and easy to implement. Great work

    Posted 09/30/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good although it could be better when it comes to cross browser support and more features.

    Posted 09/24/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great code completion capability! I'm using it as a code editor for my browser based DotNetNuke development module http://xsltdb.codeplex.com

    Posted 08/14/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i like this editor, all my system based on this editor... thanks to creator.

    Posted 07/21/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Clean and effective. Quick to implement in any project.

    Posted 07/02/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best code editor I could find. I am using it in the WordPress plugin "Shortcode exe PHP" http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/shortcode-exec-php/

    Posted 04/06/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent code editor, I'm using it in my DQ project on sourceforge - http://www.sourceforge.net/projects/mldq

    Posted 01/16/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just the job. I'm using it in my CyberDojo sourceforge project.

    Posted 01/15/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool, simple to integrate! Keep on working!

    Posted 11/09/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a great project and exactly what was required to help complete my own tool, ecoder.

    Posted 09/19/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This rocks!

    Posted 09/16/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks