Cool Reader Icon

A cross-platform XML/CSS based eBook reader

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
135
5
5
3
21
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Piece of shit that doesn't work. text loads fine, but no images. Oh, and one has to thorugh insanely old menu to choose e-books. Have you heard about copying the url and pasting it?! Of course not, and I have to dig through twenty subfolders to get to it.

    Posted 09/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perhaps it is a good software but certainly not for Android 7+. Me too it repeatedly crashes every time I try to open any ebook file. I had to uninstall it. If you have Android >= 7 I guess you'll have to wait until (if...) the author updates its code to handle it. Android 7.0 on Huawei Honor 6X BLN-AL-40 4GB. Kernel version 4.1.18-g9aa64f8, CPU Kirin 655.

    Posted 08/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashed on my fist small simple book

    Posted 11/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool Reader crashes when you select a file with Chinese characters in the filename. In books which contain Chinese characters they are displayed as squares. There appears to be no multilingual support other than Russian.

    Posted 10/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Program crashes when starting in Windows 8.1 x64

    Posted 08/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program will not run under Windows XP. Made many attempts after unzipping the file. Absolutely no error message, no feedback to tell me what's wrong. Comonnnnn folks, get this one straight. Sadly, I cannot use it.

    Posted 08/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program would not start.

    Posted 08/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DTS-06052013:11:13 Hello, On MSW732B, the application fails because the programmed calls assume to originate from logged user directory rather than program directory. Therefore, the database SQlite is never found. It was discovered when the extraction directory was changed. Furthermore, it doesn't call elevated permissions on MSWV32B+ as needed; meaning it would fail anyway. I'm not sure what kind of reviews are on Sf, but one-liners are often bought! Thank you, --- MMS

    Posted 06/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely poor interface. Cannot figure out how to add books. Deleted within 5 minutes of use.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This concerns use with Windows XP: Versions 3.X can't be used with XP: - latest new-UI version could not be coupled to epub extension as standard application. - it cannot be opened on itself when unpacked, only from within zip archive. Never saw this before. - 3051 could be opened, but not open a file as associated application - version 2 opens epub files as an archive with pages, images etc as archive entries. Pretty useless. Installation of sumatraPDF, as the first alternative at hand, worked like a charm.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Could not use it, because there is no .rpm package for Fedora/Redhat/Suse/CentOS linuxes. Furthermore for the long run, I will only use it when it will be maotly mature, i.e mostly stable (no crashes) and close to major bugs free. On Linux, I use excellent Okular (+ plugins) to read almost anything (pdf, mobi, epub, djvu ... and many more!) files. Okular is fast, reliable (never crash), and well designed. Unfortunately Okular is not availble on Windows/Mac... too bad. I will try Cool Reader as soon as a RPM package will be available. There may be a value there. I also will try it very soon on windows 7. A.G

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It was a great app till the last update ( see the bug #309 Regression after the last update ) ...

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't understand why you would bother creating a reader app that doesn't read pdf files? It makes no sense.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    did not work for me in windows 7 no instal no nothing

    Posted 12/31/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't open on Windows XP (0xc0150002)

    Posted 03/31/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To be honest I liked the project!

    Posted 01/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i didnt like

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    B Google Nexus S функция отключения подсветки кнопок не работает.

    Posted 03/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It can read file formats like .epub which is nice, but it looks ugly on a laptop. I'm guessing this is designed to be used on phones and tablets. I wish there was a way to have more control over the margins of the page so that my books do not appear so stretched on my screen. It makes them uncomfortable to read which is a shame. I did not have this problem with similar programs like Amazon Reader.

    Posted 11/24/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As far as I can determine, epub document CSS files are completely ignored. Only inline style attributes affect the displayed text.

    Posted 10/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Отличная читалка, НО: под Мандривой х64 стабильно открывает книгу на две страницы меньше чем те, на которых была закрыта в последний раз. Версия 3.0.40 вообще после прочтения примерно тридцати процентов открывает после закрытия последнюю страницу. Вдобавок в мейкфайле отсутствует цель uninstall. Если и эта сборка (43-04) будет так же глючить, придётся вернуться на 3.0.14-1. Update next day: Текущая версия точно так же открывает книгу, прочитанную на треть, на последней странице. Вернулся к версии 3.0.14-1, она только падает когда вся книга прочитана на 100%, зато помнит где остановилось чтение в прошлый раз. Ещё одно дополнение: пробовал собранные под мою систему (KDE 4.5.4 x64). Сейчас попробовал сборку из .deb х386 - эффект тот же самый.

    Posted 02/02/2011

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks