BleachBit Icon

deletes junk files to free disk space and improve privacy

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
55
2
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Must-have. Have used with Ubuntu, Mint, Fedora, OpenSUSE, etc. Never a problem. I read a few reviews on the www that seemed to think that BB could cause problems but was not able to substantiate. It also includes a secure delete utility which is easier to use than what you get with apt-install secure-delete as it works from the very tidy GUI. You can check deep cleaning and really do a nice job of cleaning up standard old school hard drives. A word of warning: if you are using SSD or USB, the secure delete of individual files is highly problematized as is also the case if you use one of the newer file systems which allow snapshots and/or which automatically back up files.My testing has been primarily on standard old fashioned hard drives using ext2/3/4 and FAT32/ntfs file systems. That said, it probably has utility for SSD/btrfs, etc., if you know the limitations. Oh, and did I say, it is quite fast, and for processes which need some run time, it runs nicely in the background with no discernible impact on available RAM?

    Posted 07/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Of any software, one of my most favorite and most often used.

    Posted 02/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An indispensable app. For a 5-star rating it needs also options for (1) scheduling to run quietly in the background daily/weekly/monthly, and (2) removal of old kernel packages in Linux.

    Posted 01/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Program is good and with all needed features. Thanks.

    Posted 12/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best cleaning tool I ever used. I love how it can find & remove files from Operating Systems other than the one being used.

    Posted 08/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your support. I didn't know that it was necessary run it as administrator to clean it well in windows. Everyday you learn something new.

    Posted 06/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good privacy and free space cleaner and best of all, it is open-source (and free). Make sure to register to the forums if you have any questions or suggestions. Works fine on my Windows 7 x64 system.

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Will not install Win 7 Home Premium, Error log: Traceback (most recent call last): File "bleachbit.py", line 43, in <module> File "bleachbit\GUI.pyo", line 40, in <module> File "bleachbit\Cleaner.pyo", line 40, in <module> File "bleachbit\Special.pyo", line 27, in <module> File "bleachbit\Options.pyo", line 297, in <module> File "bleachbit\Options.pyo", line 65, in __init__ File "bleachbit\Options.pyo", line 194, in restore File "bleachbit\FileUtilities.pyo", line 394, in guess_overwrite_paths File "bleachbit\FileUtilities.pyo", line 443, in same_partition File "bleachbit\FileUtilities.pyo", line 324, in free_space WindowsError: [Error 5] Access is denied.

    Posted 11/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Half Baked, poor GUI don't waste your time like i did.

    Posted 09/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The superior and complete way to effectively remove junk files, period!

    Posted 05/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice and helpful program. Thank you, developers!

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Here is another project (qAllInOne): sourceforge.net/projects/qallinone/ Please support it so it can be another successful Project :)

    Posted 11/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Blog thao luan seo,thao luan seo,

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm running BleachBit in Windows 7 and have had some issues. Overall it's a great tool for cleaning up what the OS leaves behind (and should not) but it could be easier to control. First, there is no way to stop the cleaning process once started. It needs a stop button. Second, there should be a master check box so that everything can be selected at once. Third, when estimating time to finish the "Please wait" display went from 60 to 80 to 81 minutes and then down to 78. When I came back an hour later it crept up to 2351 minutes remaining. I tied it twice with the same result. Over a day and a half seems excessive for a single 500GB drive. The clean was stopped by killing the task. BleachBit did well in cleaning up the drive and no issues in any subsequent operations were found so it needs a little work but it needs some work.

    Posted 10/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for good program!

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very powerful cleaning tool. Better as the most shareware cleaning tools. A must have on every Windows. Special thanks for the portable build.

    Posted 04/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Free, very quick, easy to use and rock solid. A top quality application.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for sharing that software!

    Posted 02/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I loved it. Great works and no problems.

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Two words: LIGHTNING FAST!

    Posted 12/13/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks