AstroGrep Icon

A Windows File Searching Utility (grep)

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
26
0
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You might consider grouping filetypes and offering more noob-friendly way of selecting most common extensions. I'll add this request to the forums, meanwhile 5/5!

    Posted 10/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent for reviewing a large bunch of logfiles, where you need to see some lines above and below to get the context. There's a lot of power in the regular expression search, I will investigate later if it can do 'this word' within x characters of 'that word' type searches.

    Posted 08/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This tool is absolutely excellent and exactly what I've been looking for hours on end now. To no discredit to the author and his/her accomplishment, what is so difficult about developing a tool speaking a language the user chooses to search a hard drive for (albeit somewhat very) specific contents within a file that can have any extension?!? It astounds me to see how many ways the short-sighted "developers" of alternative tools choose to shoot the themselves (and their user) in the foot. Kudos to AstroGrep author(s) for adding Explorer shell integration. Despite how natural and logical such an expectation is on the Windows platform, it was looking to be an impossibility to expect just an hour ago. Praise goes to the author as well for the excellent, intuitive user interface, which even offers highlighting and visual effects for that extra unexpected punch. It is beyond me why so many people suggest such crap as DocFetcher and InFile Seeker over the outstanding, full-featured AstroGrep!

    Posted 01/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good and stable application. Always installed on my pcs.

    Posted 01/25/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very hand tool!

    Posted 11/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @ chkiser It is clean. Norton are famous for Heuristic threats, which is a guess by Norton, not based on actual file contents. Google is your friend, search for the threat Name, in your case "WS.Reputation.1" to put your mind at ease.

    Posted 10/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super fast and a well thought out interface. Really nice job!

    Posted 09/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice

    Posted 05/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program. Works well. Thanks May you please increase the context lines. Is it possible to have an option of sliding the context window?

    Posted 05/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Norton Security is flagging this executable as corrupted by threat WS.Reputation.1 and immediately removing from my system. Please advise when there is a clean version available.

    Posted 05/01/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, possible to copy the found files in a new folder or to get the list of the files as a .txt

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How did I not know about this for so long?

    Posted 09/30/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's probably the most used application in my day-to-day work. Thank you so much for it! I installed the version 4.4.3 and am very happy, that you restored the functionality to open the file at proper position by double-clicking the results view. That's great and makes the workflow very comfortable!

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and Fast. Although It lacks the Replace feature, deserves the 5 star !

    Posted 03/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great little utility

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of software with many applications & features.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A nice easy to use program that allows you to search the contents of any file. Perfect.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a useful and surprisingly robust search tool - I hate to this, but u should sell it. It is better than some of that horribly overpriced stuff currently available for sale.

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    finally i can use it

    Posted 09/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use. I love this AstroGrep tool. Thanks for providing it.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Invaluable. Very quick. Very effective. The tasks could not be done without it.Thanks!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Invaluable. Very quick. Very effective. The tasks could not be done without it.

    Posted 01/31/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worderful. Thanks!

    Posted 01/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool for searching inside files. Light, doesn't need installation and very fast. Best that I found.

    Posted 11/20/2011
Show next 4 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks