Areca Backup Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
97
1
1
0
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it works but some extra features will be nice :)

    Posted 02/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Overall there are a lot of nice features included with this project. There is a lot of work and good programming in this package, but not all of the goals are fully realized and due to the number of unresolved bugs and seemingly low level of support, this package is not ready for prime time. I tried several attempts of getting it to work as a network backup solution (small home net of a couple machines) and received various errors and failures. If there was any error at all it simply crashed. For a single machine with no open files or a data drive, it seems to work fine but not a live system or any kind of unreadable, locked, pup-malware etc file. The biggest feature to repair would be to fix the missing VSS function, otherwise it is $$ware to continue using this even with its other faults. Read the other user forum comments ... will keep looking ETA... Couldn't get the x64 version to work on Win10x64 even with the posted workaround (bing search) but the x32 version did start just fine of W10x64.

    Posted 01/31/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is usefull.

    Posted 02/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Most backup programs use the shadow copy so ALL files are backed up. Areca does not. In order to do it, you are changed extra. This is not a complete file backup program.

    Posted 09/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For me it's the perfect solution to backup my documents and project data. I'm very happy with Areca Backup. I can recommend it to others.

    Posted 08/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I began using iAreca with a Windows XP computer. When I moved to using a Mac Book Air (MBA) I was able to use it there as well & it's been a great tool for getting files from the Windows XP Areca archive when I need them on the MBA (without having to go back to the Windows XP machine).

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    love how simple this is to set up with powerful features

    Posted 08/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not appear to work in Windows 8.1 64bit, won't start at all. Installed twice. Unable to rate.

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project as saved me so much time. No complex backup solutions just gets the job done!

    Posted 03/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A backup program which persistently interrupts with a FileNotFoundException (the Locked File Filter does NOT help) and 300 bugs unfixed is not useful for me, sorry. Win7 with UAC on is not an exotic system, and it does not work although I tried for hours.

    Posted 11/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this software. Thank you for your work.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried it on one of my VPS servers and so far it is very smooth and error-free

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Large selection of options, easy install, easy to use. Good program, thank

    Posted 02/27/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think I have already posted this, but here it goes again. AppleJack should be an integral part of MacOSX.

    Posted 02/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app

    Posted 02/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If some file is deleted inside the source directory, areca is still recovering those files. This is a big bug as i am changing file names or deleting them all the time.

    Posted 12/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent. Light-weight and loaded with most of the features I wanted

    Posted 12/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Data Recovery in Areca Backup is a joke. Data is recovered to a temporary location that is completely different from where it originated. And there is little more in the way of selectively recovering data than a choice of All or Nothing. There is no way to tell it to recover ONLY the files in directory X that were accidentally erased; and nothing more. You must recover the entire directory with possibly thousands of files, and then manually copy just the erased ones from the temporary recovery directory to the real directory. It is almost as though the idea of actually recovering data was an afterthought to a program than only did backups. If you require anything more than the simplest data backup needs, Areca Backup is not for you. This program falls into the category of better than nothing - but barely.

    Posted 12/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This just works, I also love the fact that it compresses the files in order to save space. Just wish it had a scheduler although I think it's possible to make one... I have to look into it more.

    Posted 11/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job! Thanks!

    Posted 11/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software, thanks to everyone involved in its development!

    Posted 11/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 11/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works just as intended and much more. Recommended!

    Posted 11/06/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks