android-x86 Icon

beta

A project to bring Android to the x86 platform

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
40
5
1
3
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Downloaded and installed to an USB memory Booted to a Lenovo laptop Without a touchscreen, using a mouse, very limited movements,specially for games. DL-ed WHATSAPP, but it gave a message, can not run on this device As it stands, this has zero practical usage for me.

    Posted 05/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All in all it is done great, although I would have added some little improvements. Sometimes (depending on the app running) the screen orientation changes, which is annoying on laptops / PCs, but there is an app for forcing always using vertical/landscape mode. Also on my Laptop (I didn't test it on other devices so far) the letters shown on the screen sometimes are shown kind of strange.. some letters are missing, some letters are printed incomplete and even sometimes there are no letters at all. But restarting the app or switching to another tab etc (all the things refreshing the screen) often works to get back the correct letters. Although there are some minor annoyances, I rate this project with 5 stars, because it is very easy to use, very stable and nearly full functional and in my case it worked well enough for my purposes.

    Posted 04/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    how i install it please tell me

    Posted 03/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome

    Posted 03/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stunning. Really! Not so much the newest Marshmallow, but Lollipop (esp. the 32 bit version) runs amazingly on my laptop, faster than on my beloved Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2 tablet: Hardware for my Android x86 install: Lenovo T420s with 8 gigs memory 2 solid state drives (Android takes up 2nd one in entirety - 160g worth). Versions tried: Marshmallow - it runs from install usb, but when attempting to install grub to my ssd it fails. Lollipop 5.1.1 64bit version - grub installs flawlessly and the OS works a charm. Runs anything which does *NOT* require root privileges. Even when root is assigned, it does not give root. So I can't restore from my Titanium files. Lollipop 5.1.1 32bit version - This is a silver medal winner for me, as it runs *nearly* everything and *DOES* allow root / superuser privileges. Titanium works great, Adaway works great. Only drawbacks? Minor, but real. Words with Friends (my wife's favorite!) does not work. A newer version of Bejeweled (high def version) does not work.

    Posted 02/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On my T410s Lenovo laptop the 64bit Android 6.0 rocked. I ran it from a 16gb usb stick, live. Booted no issues fairly quickly, logged into Google and all my Android phone apps appeared, no issues at all with Gmail, YouTube, etc., etc.. Big thanks for a fine release!

    Posted 02/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    tablet with wacom touch screens is very bugly

    Posted 02/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good

    Posted 01/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, it works well on vmware even without vm tools integration.

    Posted 12/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not run on my HP desktop. I dual boot to W7 or Linux mint. Using Oracle VB on either platform the software launches to install screen, then hangs.

    Posted 12/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I cant get android version 5.1 to boot past the android splash screen it just hangs my machine is a dell gx520 kitkat 4.4 loads and runs fine Ive tried to add various configurations to kernel line but it still just hangs, nomodeset, xforcevesa, i915.nomodeset=0 but none of them work

    Posted 11/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    android-x86 5.1 for install ... good, easy but maybe hard work, waithing long time. but ; - if open subfolder , i get font broken, very broken. - SDcard not detect - mouse not work for roll, run and select is good thanks for app, good share *** TOSHIBA PORTEGE T110

    Posted 11/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great on an old AOD250 netbook.

    Posted 10/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    5 starts for hard work. However cannot make it run. 1) Tried copying an image to USB stick and the installation fails because it was not possible to mount a created partition for android OS, moreover an installer creates a loop in partition table. After reboot getting "machine check error". 2) Tried to use unetbootin using either fat32 or ext2/3 partitions with every combinations. Result - an installer is unable to find an android os. After reboot getting "machine check error". Would be nice to have a workable instructions how to easily setup android on USB stick using available tools. I had not had any issues with -r2 release.

    Posted 08/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful for x86 users.

    Posted 07/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job on the project it self. Only complaint is downloads speeds on this page. Not sure but they're horrible they range from 700KBs to 50KB.

    Posted 07/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its so good compilation, good work gentlemen...

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Estou fazendo testes...

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good for old laptop pcs before 2004 with low ram runs much smother than old pc with xp or win 7 im running android x86 as os not from virtualbox on a Presario v2000 cant work sound out yet usbs work touchpad works Ethernet works.

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Formidable ! Installé sur une tablette MSI windpad w-110. Fonctionne à merveille. A l'origine avec w7, démarrage environ 5 mn. Maintenant, démarrage moins d'une minute. De plus, tout fonctionne bluetooth, double caméra, lecteur carte Sd. Cerise sur le gâteaux: peut etre rootée dés l'installation. Port HDMI non testé, encore. Bravo ! Ce qui manque : la gestion du gyroscope

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent work fine

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent port of the Android OS onto 32-bit x86 CPU architecture instruction set.

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent for new lease of life for elderly laptops. Great support too.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More choices for PC

    Posted 08/31/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks