Acrylic DNS Proxy Icon

A local DNS proxy which improves the performance of your computer

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
9
1
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So Why does virustotal come up with 3 antivirus programs that say it contains a trogan downloader?

    Posted 06/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    -

    Posted 12/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After a few hours of debugging, I'm still stuck trying make it work.. Both, Acrylic Service and Console, doesn't receive any response from DNS server (I've tried google DNS, OpenDNS, my ISP DNS and Level3 DNS), as viewed in debug log and Sysinternals Procmon. Acrylic receive queries from client, forward to DNS server, but receive nothing in response.. I've noticed that source port of Acrylic queries is 53, the same usual listening port of a DNS server.. Maybe the DNS servers had refused such source port, as part of some DDOS protection (suspicious source port). Or maybe Acrylic queries are malformed.. In fact, none udp packet is received from DNS server after each Acrylic sent packet (to DNS) I've tested only locally, with last version of Acrylic, and default settings in HOSTS file and Configuration file, on a Windows 7 64 bits machine. It's just me ? Anyone else had such problem ?

    Posted 10/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Software, but at the moment you need manual backup before you update to a new version or your Configuration and hosts files are lost, overwritten by the installer.

    Posted 07/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, great utility, great support... Now, if I had the equivalent in Linux ;-) - Mike

    Posted 04/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find this project fascinating, I hope to see some updates from the Author :)

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Trying it for some minutes and found 3 websites BLOCKED BY ACRYLIC! kioskea.net (online linux community) netheos.net (about trusted browser) kahunaburger.com (talk about DNS cache in Firefox) conclusions: UGLY!

    Posted 05/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We use this in conjunction with Vagrant to create a development environment. It works great!

    Posted 02/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it! I have set this up on one computer and my entire house's dns queries go through it.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While using a VPN (Cotse), I discovered that my Windows 7 system was leaking the DNS every time I went to a website through the VPN proxy. What was happening was the proxy was using encryption to resolve the addresses correctly, however, W7 was also somehow resolving the address through my ISP. So my ISP could tell and log everywhere I was going, rendering the VPN service worthless. I solved this by blocking the DNS addresses with my firewall. The problem was that I had other programs I had written that needed to resolve site addresses to run. Upon finding Acrylic DNS Proxy, I was able to simply disable the firewall, start my programs, and then enable the firewall again. Now when these programs start, Acrylic provides the needed ip addresses to them.

    Posted 01/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it. It's small a work fine. About Jacob A Bruinsma comments. 1) Edit the HOST file must be always a admin job, or a admin group member; 2) Detect host change it's usefull, I agree. 3) A GUI feature can be implemented, but it's more easy if it was on web browser (mini HTTP embeded server/ Like HFS did it. <www.rejetto.com/hfs/>). 4) It's a Pascal code. It's probably more easy to rewrite some parts of code to compile with Lazarus <www.lazarus.freepascal.org/Em cache - Similares >(Windows, Linux e Mac OS X). But I'll play with it. It can be helpfull on other project. Thank you mayakron! You really did a great job!

    Posted 02/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great application. Easy to use, works well, great filtering capabilities. Confirmed compatible with Windows 7 32 bit, haven't tried x64 yet. Small critical note 1: editing the hosts file requires admin permissions due to its location in %programfiles% - where it strictly doesn't belong and possibly for security reasons. Small critical note 2: the service doesn't detect changes to the hosts file and requires a manual service restart, seems kind of brute-force to me. Small critical note 3: I would love to have a GUI of some sort for adding new host file entries, finding old entries, viewing the log and restarting the service. I would build one myself but ideally that should be part of this application as an add-on, and I don't have Delphi. Pop me a note if you'd like me to start something in .NET to perform this functionality.

    Posted 11/22/2011

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks