Menu

Reason 3

2015-06-13
2015-06-15
  • Martin Townsend

Martin Townsend - 2015-06-13

Hi,

I recently got Reason 3 working with wineasio but I had to recompile it with -DASIOST32INT. I'm new to audio programming so I don't quite understand what this switch does apart from telling Reason to use 32 Integer values for samples which I think are then converted to 32bit floats for Jack?? Anyway looking at the code, a for loop for all samples with a floating point divide is not optimal so I was wondering why the default ASIOSTFloat32LSB is not working? Is there anything I could try to get this working with Reason 3? If not maybe it would be worth have a runtime switch for ASIOST32INT that could be set like you do for autostart server etc.

Many Thanks for the driver, it's great to be able to use Reason with Ardour.

Martin.

• Peter L Jones

Peter L Jones - 2015-06-14

You may get better support for questions on setting up Reason from its authors rather than here. I've never used it. Many products using ASIO simply ask the ASIO driver what format details to use and do as they're told. Perhaps Reason doesn't support 32 bit floating point, though.

• Joakim Hernberg

Joakim Hernberg - 2015-06-14

Hmm, I don't know what I can really do to help with this. Reason really ought to work with floating point, as many ASIO drivers use this format. It's not up to the application to chose, it just has to support what the driver gives it. That said iirc I added integer support for some NI synth, but that one has worked with fp for years now. In fact in the rewrite that I'm doing to integrate wineasio into wine, I've removed 32b Int support completely. No idea when or if I'll finish that port though (matter of time and interest)...

Isn't reason 3 some really ancient version? Just tried to download a reason demo, but got version 8.20, which didn't manage to install directly...

• Martin Townsend

Martin Townsend - 2015-06-14