Menu

How to install WANem to hard drive (a recipe)

Jason
2012-12-26
2013-12-23
  • Jason

Jason - 2012-12-26

Hello all.  This is my first post.  I’ve been lurking around for a while trying to gather information and such.  Long story short I’m an IT instructor (mostly all Cisco and networking) and was looking for a way to inject network bandwidth issues, jitter, and so on into our training networks.  I found the WANem live disc and realized that it fit about 95% of what I needed but that other 5% would be kind of difficult to come by.  I wanted to run WANem off a hard drive vs. being a live disc.  Now, there are several “How to’s” out there on how to do this but few really touched on how to do it the way I needed it to work.  Long story short many of the ways that folks describe doing it would leave you with a halfway responsive box or just wouldn’t work at all.  I needed something that was fairly responsive and worked as it should.  I also needed it to act as a static router and dhcp server. 
    Now, I want to disclose this right away.  I am not a Linux/Unix guru by any stretch of the imagination.  I’ve learned just enough about it over the years to make me dangerous.  In fact some of the things that I have done might be just bad practices on real live boxes.  To me this doesn’t matter because it’s a training/baselining box, but please comment if I have done something terrible if I haven't already disclosed it.  A few of the things I did I will note their weakness, but some I just didn’t know any better to be honest if they exist.  But I figured it would be best to post up my steps and processes to help with the community and if it helps another person get onboard and install this great program to their hard drive and reap its wonderful benefits that much quicker then that’s terrific.

• Jason

Jason - 2012-12-26