Menu

Improving tracks making info, and more.

Fernando
2021-02-15
2024-01-02
  • Fernando

Fernando - 2021-02-15

Hi everyone.

I recently started playing Trigger Rally, and modifying track mywise.

Wrt the second, I'm impressed how easy and intuitive it is, even without reading the howtos and, I would like to know (possible improvement proposal):
    The images to be used:
    1. What file extension can be used?
    2. Do they have to be squared?
    3. How big can they be? (px).
    4. Can transparency be used? In order to reduce info to be processed.
    Wrt foliage image.
    1. Is it possible to use different image for different types of vegetation? (If not, I think it could be interesting for future releases).
    2. That image has to be “digital” (black or white) or can be “analogical” (like height images)? (Another interesting feature, if the first).

On the other hand.
    On https://trigger-rally.sourceforge.io/tutorial.htm the link to “reference guide” (XML) is broken.
    On the main page, “making new cars” is broken too.

And finally: I've seen videos of TR Online. The tracks and cars used there, are usable on TR desk? Are they somewhere on the net?

Great job, thank a lot.

• Onsemeliot

Onsemeliot - 2021-02-15

1) As far as I know png and jpg are possible.
    2) Yes, and they need to be powers of two.
    3) The biggest I managed so far was 4096, if I remember correctly. But the loading times on weak systems are greatly impacted by larger images.
    4) No, transparency isn't an option. (It would actually lead to larger file sizes.) For the final game they are normally compressed and stored as jpg files. (Even png gets converted by a script.)
    5) You can't have more than one greyscale image for vegetation. (Shades of grey define local density.) I really recommend to use the very brief map reference to understand the values!
    6) Thank you for reporting the broken links. I will try to fix them.